We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by real acts of resistance, a heartrending story of one woman's courage in WW2

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781472270122

Price: £19.99

The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of love and hope in World War II from the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon.

The war taught her to fight. The children taught her to hope…

Inspired by real acts of bravery and resistance, The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of one woman’s courage and sacrifice during World War II, from the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Piece of Nancy Moon.

This exquisitely beautiful novel is perfect for readers of The Rose Code by Kate Quinn, The Postmistress, Lilac Girls and The Girl from Vichy.

‘A beautifully worked tale of bravery, woven into the reality of a time we can’t forget’ Mandy Robotham, author of The Berlin Girl

‘An emotional, beautifully constructed read. I loved the way the clues from the past and present slowly knitted together, answering the questions that had been missing their answers for so long’ Sunday Times bestselling author Jill Mansell

‘Gripping, at times heartbreaking, but ultimately uplifting, I found this beautifully written novel impossible to put down’ Sunday Times bestselling author Katie Fforde

My darling girl, I need you to find someone for me . . .’

France, 1942. At the end of the day, the schoolteacher releases her pupils. She checks they have their identity passes, and warns them not to stop until the German guards have let them through the barrier that separates occupied France from Free France. As the little ones fly across the border and into their mothers’ arms, she breathes a sigh of relief. No one is safe now. Not even the children.

Berkshire, present day. A letter left to her by her beloved late grandmother Gigi takes Hannah Stone on a journey deep into the heart of the Dordogne landscape. As she begins to unravel a forgotten history of wartime bravery and sacrifice, she discovers the heartrending secret that binds her grandmother to a village schoolteacher, the remarkable Lucie Laval . . .

‘An engaging tale of courage and friendship. A triumph!’ Gill Paul

Evocative writing and the storytelling is masterful. It really draws the reader in‘ Felicity Hayes-McCoy

(P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Limited

Reviews

An emotional, beautifully constructed read. I especially loved the way the clues from the past and present slowly knitted together, answering the questions that had been missing their answers for so long
Jill Mansell, author of It Started with a Secret
Gripping, at times heartbreaking, but ultimately uplifting, I found this beautifully written novel impossible to put down
Katie Fforde, author of A Springtime Affair
An engaging tale of courage and friendship. The setting in the French countryside is lush and summery. A triumph!
Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife
I gorged on cherries and slices of rich history in this beautifully worked tale of bravery, woven into the reality of a time we can't forget
Mandy Robotham, author of The Secret Messenger
The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel really draws the reader in. The storytelling is masterful, as are all the subtle touches that convey the sense of place; and, as with Nancy Moon, the bedrock is Sarah's nuanced, unsentimental portrayal of warm, compassionate female friendships
Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of The Library at the Edge of the World