We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781472297730

Price: £24.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Growing up in Queens, I didn’t know being named Shenequa was considered “ghetto” or uncouth. It was only later in life that I realized I was being judged by a decision I had no control over… I will examine the double-standard Black girls with big names like Shenequa face, and the quick math we have to calculate when trying to de-escalate drama.’

In A BLACK GIRL IN THE MIDDLE, a timely, compelling, and blazingly honest essay collection, Shenequa Golding holds up her magnifying glass to both her own experiences and those of young Black women everywhere. With her trademark wit and originality, Shenequa covers identity-searching themes of white supremacy, feminism, misogyny, love, sex and heartbreak. But this isn’t just a book about Black women’s trauma, it is also a book that embraces and celebrates the things that make Black women different. For readers of SLAY IN YOUR LANE, Candice Brathwaite and Issa Rae.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less