Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Broken Girls

The Broken Girls

THEY WON’T FORGIVE. THEY WON’T FORGET.

‘Clever and wonderfully chilling. It held me hostage’ – Fiona Barton, Sunday Times-bestselling author of The Widow and The Child

‘Haunting and memorable… mesmerizing’ – Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King’s Daughter

1950
– At the crumbling Idlewild Hall school for unwanted girls, four room-mates begin to bond over dark secrets and whispered fears – until one of them mysteriously disappears…

2014 – Journalist Fiona Sheridan can’t get over the murder of her sister twenty years ago, near the ruins of Idlewild. And when another body is found during renovations of the school, she’ll begin to uncover secrets that were meant to remain hidden in the past – and a voice that won’t be silenced…

For fans of Lisa Jewell and S.K. Tremayne, The Broken Girls is a chilling story of murder, revenge, and a darkness that refuses to stay buried…

(P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 20th March 2018

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472253637

Reviews

The Broken Girls is clever and wonderfully chilling. It held me hostage in a very modern ghost story until the early hours
Haunting and memorable, The Broken Girls is a mesmerizing blend of past and present; a sometimes heartbreaking and always compelling quest for the truth about secrets that shouldn't stay buried. Masterfully done!
Simone St. James weaves a spellbinding tale of fervently held secrets, mysterious murders, and a boarding school for the unwanted. Told through deftly intertwined timelines, this gothic ghost story held me rapt until its dark, final twists. An addictive read not to be missed
Chilling, disturbing and gripping, this is a well-written, modern-day gothic tale about facing our darkest fears
Each new twist is served with calculated, masterful precision. St. James sketches her characters with a deft hand, shifting seamlessly between time periods and knitting together a vivid, riveting story you won't soon forget. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough!
I loved this - it's eerie and clever but also unexpectedly moving, with some really beautifully-drawn characters. A very satisfying spooky weekend read.