Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Proposal

The Proposal

A love that has waited for fifty years…

The Sunday Times bestseller, The Proposal by Tasmina Perry looks back to the final year of the debutantes. With a haunting love story at its heart, the novel sweeps you away to fifties London and modern Manhattan. Perfect for fans of Karen Swan.

‘More romantic than a candlelit proposal. On Valentine’s Day. In Paris. From Ryan Gosling’ – Heat

1958. At eighteen, Georgia Hamilton is sent to London for the Debutante Season. Independent, and with secret dreams to be a writer, she has no wish to join the other debs competing for a husband. But when tragedy strikes, her fate appears to have been sealed.

2012. Hurrying to meet her lover, Amy Carrell hopes tonight will change her destiny. And it does – but not in the way she imagined. Desolate and desperate to get out of London, she accepts a position as companion to a mysterious stranger, bound for Manhattan – little knowing she is about to unlock a love story that has waited fifty years to be told. And a heart waiting to come back to life…

What readers are saying about The Proposal:

‘A beautifully romantic story spanning the ages that you will love’

‘This is a story full of small kindnesses, bitter betrayal, and all-consuming love

I enjoyed every page of The Proposal, it’s one of those books that you sit down to read a couple of chapters and before you know it you are over half way through the story’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 7th November 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755383573

Reviews

More romantic than a candlelit proposal. On Valentine's Day. In Paris. From Ryan Gosling
Heat
A heartfelt, romantic tale about lost love and how it's never too late to start again. Mingling modern day New York with the rarefied world of 1950s debutantes, Tasmina Perry's ninth novel is a departure but has all the elements she does best: characters you feel you know as intimately as close friends and lots of heart. A treat of a novel you'll want to devour in one sitting
Good Housekeeping
A modern fairy tale with broken hearts. Debutantes, country houses - what's not to love?
Daily Mail </i>(Best Books of 2013)
An enjoyable tale, narrated with charm
Sunday Mirror
A glamorous tale of second chances in modern Manhattan and Fifties London. An irresistible page-turner
Marie Claire
An unforgettable journey...will keep you gripped
Daily Express
A mesmerising novel, this book will have you engrossed from cover to cover
The Lady
A tantalising blend of elegance and mystique, a rather irresistible read
Closer