Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Good Neighbourhood

A Good Neighbourhood

A Good Neighbourhood explores how class, race and star-crossed love can change two families’s lives forever. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng.

‘A feast of a read: compelling, heartbreaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it’s that good.’ Jodi Picoult

In Oak Knoll, a tight-knit North Carolina neighbourhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door – an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenage daughter.

With little in common except a property line, these two very different families quickly find themselves at odds over an historic oak tree in Valerie’s yard.

But as they fight, they fail to notice that there is a romance blossoming between their two teenagers. A romance that will challenge the carefully constructed concepts of class and race in this small community. A romance that might cause everything to shatter…

Praise for A Good Neighbourhood:

Compelling, complicated, timely, and smart . . . a full-hearted, unflinching indictment of a broken system and in so doing tells a story hard to put down and hard to forget.’ Laurie Frankel, bestselling author of This is How it Always Is

This is a story that will stick with you for a long time.’ Emily Giffin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of All We Ever Wanted

(P) 2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 4th February 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781472269348

Reviews

'Compelling and captivating, A Good Neighbourhood left me speechless yet wanting to discuss. This is a story that will stick with you for a long time.'
Emily Giffin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of All We Ever Wanted
'Therese Anne Fowler has taken the ingredients of racism, justice, and conservative religion and has concocted a feast of a read: compelling, heart-breaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighbourhood in a single sitting. Yes, it's that good.'
Jodi Picoult
A gripping modern morality tale... Familiar elements - two families, two young lovers, a legal dispute - frame a story that feels both classic and inevitable. But Fowler makes the book her own with smart dialogue, compelling characters and a communal "we" narrator that implicates us all in the wrenching conclusion.
Tara Conklin, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Romantics
A Good Neighbourhood is my favourite kind of novel - compelling, complicated, timely, and smart. With great humanity, Therese Anne Fowler imparts a full-hearted, unflinching indictment of a broken system and in so doing tells a story hard to put down and hard to forget.
Laurie Frankel, author of This is How It Always Is