Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Churchill's Bodyguard

Churchill's Bodyguard

For fans of Darkest Hour and Dunkirk, discover the story of Walter H. Thompson, the man who saved Winston Churchill’s life more than once.

Walter H. Thompson was Churchill’s bodyguard from 1921 until 1945, brought back from retirement at the outbreak of war.

Tom Hickman’s authorised biography draws heavily on extracts from a manuscript recently discovered by his great-niece, in which Thompson gives a unique insider’s account of a number of occasions on which Churchill’s life was put seriously at risk and his intervention was needed.

After the war, Thompson married one of Churchill’s secretaries, and her recollections, as well as those of surviving family members, are interwoven to tell the revelatory inside story of life beside the Greatest Briton.
Read More

Genre: Humanities / History / Regional & National History / European History / British & Irish History

On Sale: 5th June 2006

Price: £10.99

ISBN-13: 9780755314492

Reviews

well-written and engaging... a worthy edition to the Churchillian canon
BBC History magazine
'fresh anecdotes abound in these fascinating pages'
Glasgow Evening Times
'a groundbreaking new book'
Yorkshire Post