Ann Granger - Rack, Ruin and Murder - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755383757
    • Publication date:09 Jun 2011
Books in this series

Rack, Ruin and Murder

Campbell & Carter Mystery 2

By Ann Granger

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The second Campbell and Carter mystery from one of the nation's best-loved crime writers.

The discovery of a dead body shatters the tranquillity of a Cotswold village in Ann Granger's second Campbell and Carter mystery.

When old Monty Bickerstaffe finds a dead body in his drawing room it comes as a nasty surprise - the first of many. Monty lives alone in a crumbling Cotswold manor house and the last thing he wants is the police sniffing around his property. Not that he has anything to hide...

The identity of the corpse and how and why it was left in Monty's home remain a mystery. The locals swear they've seen nothing unusual and Monty's relatives claim they've never set eyes on the stiff before. But Inspector Jess Campbell is convinced that someone's lying and, with the help of Superintendent Ian Carter, she must dig deep into Monty's family history to reveal the shocking truth...

Biographical Notes

Ann Granger has lived in cities all over the world, since for many years she worked for the Foreign Office and received postings to British embassies as far apart as Munich and Lusaka. She is now permanently based in Oxfordshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755349111
  • Publication date: 08 Dec 2011
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

An Unfinished Murder: Campbell & Carter Mystery 6

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger
Headline

Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Rooted in Evil

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

Rooted in Evil by Ann Granger is set in the Cotswold village of Weston Saint Ambrose and features Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter in their fifth murder mystery.Carl Finch is a desperate man. Cut out of his stepfather's will, he is heavily in debt and unless he can persuade his stepsister Hattie to bail him out, he'll be in even more trouble. Hattie's husband Guy has never liked Carl and wants his wife's inheritance for his own use, so Hattie agrees to meet Carl in secret to discuss his predicament. Little does she realise that when she arrives at their meeting point in Crooked Man Wood she'll find Carl's dead body...

Headline

The DI Kate Burrows Trilogy: The Ladykiller, Broken, Hard Girls

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Available together for the first time, the complete DI Kate Burrows trilogy by the Sunday Times No.1 bestselling author, Martina Cole. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.'The Queen of Crime' - Woman & Home on Hard GirlsThe deadly DI Kate Burrows trilogy: the only time Martina's written from the Old Bill's perspective. Kate is the hard-but-fair copper whose investigations - and heart - become dangerously entwined with London's most infamous gangster, Patrick Kelly. But when there's a killer on the loose, Kate Burrows is the only woman for the job. THE LADYKILLER. BROKEN. HARD GIRLS.

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in BLOOD TIDE, the fifth novel in Claire McGowan's acclaimed series. If you enjoyed Sharon Bolton's LITTLE BLACK LIES or Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE, you will love this new novel from the author of THE SILENT DEAD and A SAVAGE HUNGER. Called in to investigate the disappearance of a young couple during a violent storm, Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist, has mixed feelings about going back to Bone Island. Her last family holiday as a child was spent on its beautiful, remote beaches and returning brings back haunting memories of her long-lost mother.It soon becomes clear that outsiders aren't welcome on the island, and with no choice but to investigate the local community, Paula soon suspects foul play, realising that the islanders are hiding secrets from her, and each other.With another storm fast approaching, Paula is faced with a choice. Leave alive or risk being trapped with a killer on an inescapable island, as the blood tide rushes in...

Headline

The Dead Woman of Deptford

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

THE DEAD WOMAN OF DEPTFORD is the sixth Inspector Ben Ross mystery set in Victorian London by much-loved crime writer Ann Granger.On a cold November night in a Deptford yard, dock worker Harry Parker stumbles upon the body of a dead woman. Inspector Ben Ross is summoned from Scotland Yard to this insalubrious part of town, but no witness to the murder of this well-dressed, middle-aged woman can be found. Even Jeb Fisher, the local rag-and-bone man, swears he's seen nothing. Meanwhile, Ben's wife Lizzie is trying to suppress a scandal: family friend Edgar Wellings has a gambling addiction and no means of repaying his debts. Reluctantly, Lizzie agrees to visit his debt collector's house in Deptford, but when she arrives she finds her husband is investigating the murder of the woman in question. Edgar was the last man to see Mrs Clifford alive and he has good reason to want her dead, but Ben and Lizzie both know that a case like this is rarely as simple as it appears...

Headline

Dead In The Water

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

It is the wettest winter on record and as Christmas approaches the rivers burst their banks and the farmers' fields lie under several feet of water. In the village of Weston Saint Ambrose, a young girl's body is seen floating downstream and when it becomes stuck under the jetty at a reclusive writer's home, the author is alarmed to discover that he recognises the victim of a brutal murder...(P)2015 Headline 2015

Headline

The Cater Street Hangman (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Callander Square (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 2)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Paragon Walk (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 3)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Resurrection Row (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 4)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Rutland Place (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 5)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

Will the dangerous persistence of Charlotte and the quiet patience of Inspector Thomas Pitt make it possible to solve this most macabre and chilling mystery? Anne Perry's Rutland Place is the fifth novel featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, which sees the duo uncovering the darkest and most desperate secrets hidden in fashionable Rutland Place. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry. 'When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company' - New York Times Charlotte Pitt's mother has lost a locket holding a comprising picture. Arriving at her mother's home at Rutland Place to help her search, Charlotte discovers that other residents of the exclusive neighbourhood have suffered similar unexplained small thefts. Then Mina Spencer-Brown, a woman known for prying, dies from poisoning. It seems likely that Mina's snooping had led to her murder, but what secrets had she stumbled upon? And whose? As Thomas Pitt patiently struggles to break down the protective silence of London's high society, Charlotte works behind its closed doors to help unravel a mystery revealing sordid secrets and the chilling, dark corners of human behaviour. What readers are saying about Rutland Place: 'Once started, impossible to put the book down''Brilliant as usual''Another excellent murder mystery - five stars'

Headline

Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Death in the Devil's Acre (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 7)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Cardington Crescent (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 8)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

With only Inspector Pitt believing in the accused's innocence, can he hope to uncover the truth in time? In Anne Perry's eighth Victorian mystery, featuring Inspector Thomas Pitt, Charlotte Pitt's sister is charged with murder. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.'Perry gets the Victorian mood just right... Settle in with this one on a rainy day' - BooklistAs Inspector Thomas Pitt works to resolve the case of a dismembered woman, his brother-in-law, George March, Lord Ashworth, is poisoned. The police's main suspect: Charlotte's sister, Emily. Convinced of her innocence, Charlotte and Pitt take on the March clan with the help of her formidable Great-aunt Vespasia, attempting to break through their wall of deceit and silence. When Emily finds Sybilla March, George's suspected mistress, strangled by her hair, the case would seem hopeless for anyone but the Pitts. Their pursuit of the truth takes them down a path of corruption, depravity, and murder, from the elegant townhouses lining fashionable Cardington Crescent to the horrifying slums of London. What readers are saying about Cardington Crescent: 'This has been the best read of the Thomas Pitt series. Didn't want to put the book down''A wonderful read, kept me guessing who the murderer was right up until the end!''A fascinating plot and a good portrayal of the Victorian era'

Headline

Silence in Hanover Close (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 9)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A secret so shocking it will lead to murder including, quite possibly, Pitt's own... In Anne Perry's ninth crime novel featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, an unsolved murder will take the acclaimed Victorian policeman into the gravest danger. Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.'Descriptions of London's Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating' - St. Petersburg Times When Thomas Pitt is required to reopen a murder case in Hanover Close, he doesn't know how perilous it will become. Three years earlier Robert York, who worked for the Foreign Office, was murdered. Pitt believes a mysterious woman may hold the key to his death, and his suspicion deepens when one of the York household's maids dies suddenly - soon after talking to him. Then Pitt himself is arrested for the murder of the woman he'd been seeking. Only Charlotte and her sister Emily can stand between Pitt and the gallows. Charlotte and Emily find a way to delve deep into the confidences of the York family and their household, but with Pitt in prison and a murderer among the inhabitants of Hanover Close, they are playing a deadly game... What readers are saying about Silence in Hanover Close: 'Excellent read... you will struggle to put it down''Another excellent book in the Thomas Pitt series; easy to read and well researched into the social life of Victorian era''Five stars'

Headline

Bethlehem Road (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 10)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

A New York Christmas (Christmas Novella 12)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Dead Pass

Bateman
Authors:
Bateman
Headline

The Angel Court Affair (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 30)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry