Jo Thomas - Late Summer in the Vineyard - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472223715
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240538
    • Publication date:11 Aug 2016

Late Summer in the Vineyard

By Jo Thomas

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Hot on the heals of Kindle bestseller THE OYSTER CATCHER and widely-acclaimed follow-up THE OLIVE BRANCH, Jo Thomas's vineyard-set novel is full of heart and perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Lucy Diamond.

Escape to France with LATE SUMMER IN THE VINEYARD - Jo Thomas's irresistible follow-up to THE OYSTER CATCHER and THE OLIVE BRANCH. 'A fabulous French feast of fun' Milly Johnson

Emmy Bridges has always looked out for others. Now it's time to put down roots of her own.

Working for a wine-maker in France is the opportunity of a lifetime for Emmy. Even if she doesn't know a thing about wine - beyond what's on offer at the local supermarket.

There's plenty to get to grips with in the rustic town of Petit Frère. Emmy's new work friends need more than a little winning over. Then there's her infuriatingly brash tutor, Isaac, and the enigmatic Madame Beaumont, tucked away in her vineyard of secrets.

But Emmy will soon realise that in life - just as in wine-making - the best things happen when you let go and trust your instincts. Particularly when there's romance in the air...

'Sheer romcom brilliance!' Heat

'A heart-warming tale... Perfect escapism' Marie Claire

'This book is scrumptious! I couldn't stop reading' Katie Fforde

'A full-bodied tale with hints of humour and romance which can be enjoyed at any time of year' Sun

'What a gorgeous book! Reading it felt like the best kind of holiday' Lucy Diamond

'A warm-hearted, sparkling gem... I loved it!' Miranda Dickinson

'Sunny and funny...as warm as a south-facing vineyard. It made me want to rush to France tout suite!' Veronica Henry

'Captures the essence of France from the vineyards and chateaux to the glorious sunshine and of course, the wine' Cathy Bramley

Biographical Notes

Jo Thomas worked for many years as a reporter and producer, first for BBC Radio 5, before moving on to Radio 2's The Steve Wright Show. In 2013 Jo won the RNA Katie Fforde Bursary. Her debut novel, The Oyster Catcher, was a runaway bestseller in ebook and was awarded the 2014 RNA Joan Hessayon Award and the 2014 Festival of Romance Best Ebook Award. Jo lives in the Vale of Glamorgan with her husband and three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472223722
  • Publication date: 11 Aug 2016
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Sheer romcom brilliance! — Heat
A heart-warming tale... Perfect escapism — Marie Claire
This book is scrumptious! I couldn't stop reading — Katie Fforde
A full-bodied tale with hints of humour and romance which can be enjoyed at any time of year — Sun
What a gorgeous book! Reading it felt like the best kind of holiday — Lucy Diamond
A warm-hearted, sparkling gem... I loved it! — Miranda Dickinson
Sunny and funny...as warm as a south-facing vineyard. It made me want to rush to France tout suite! — Veronica Henry
Captures the essence of France from the vineyards and chateaux to the glorious sunshine and of course, the wine — Cathy Bramley
Warm, funny, romantic with a terrific sense of place. I loved it! — Katie Fforde
A perfect pearl of a story. I loved it — Milly Johnson
A warm witty debut... Well worth a read — Carole Matthews
A heart-warming tale full of Celtic charm, set against a beautiful landscape. What more could you wish for? — Ali McNamara
Romantic and funny, this is a great addition to any bookshelf — Sun
Sun, good food and romance, what more could you want? — Heat
Set in a beautiful landscape with lovable characters... A real page-turner — Candis magazine
Headline Review

The Honey Farm on the Hill

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas's irresistible novel transports you straight to the mountains of Crete. A gorgeous, sun-filled new read from the author of THE OYSTER CATCHER, THE OLIVE BRANCH, and LATE SUMMER IN THE VINEYARD.We never forget the one who got away.Eighteen years ago Nell fell in love in the mountains of Crete and life changed for ever. Nell's daughter, Demi, has never met her dad. Nell never saw him again.When she gets the chance to return to the hilltop town of Vounoplagia - where everything began - Nell can't resist the urge to go back and find him.Working on a honey farm perched high up in the hills, there's plenty to keep her busy. And she will quickly realise the town harbours just as many secrets as she does.But if Nell's favourite romantic films are right, there's a happy ending in store for each of us. All she has to do is seek out the magic of the mountains...Jo Thomas takes you there.

Headline Review

Notes from the Northern Lights (A Short Story)

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

The Red Sky At Night (Short Story)

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

A sparkling, feel-good short story from the bestselling author of The Oyster Catcher and The Olive Branch, available exclusively in ebook.When Layla arrives in the Welsh coastal village of Swn-y-Mor with new fiancé Rob in tow, she plans to carry out her dad's final wishes, then return to Cardiff quickly, before too many unwanted memories surface.But the longer Layla remains, the harder it is to resist the lure of the autumn skies and memories of family holidays gone by. With fishing trips and firesides to enjoy, is Rob really Layla's future, and is Swn-y-Mor going to remain in her past for ever? It's time for Layla to recapture the magic of her childhood...

Headline Review

The Olive Branch

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

The Oyster Catcher

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline Review

The Chestnut Tree (A Short Story)

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

A.K. Shevchenko

A.K. Shevchenko is the author of BEQUEST and two bestselling cultural guides to Russia and Ukraine. She was awarded a residential fellowship by the Hosking Houses Trust in 2010 to write THE GAME.

A.M. Goldsher

Chicago-based author, musician and journalist A.M. Goldsher has an amazing background, including recording with Janet Jackson, Cypress Hill and Naughty by Nature, performing at the Grammys, contributing regularly to various music magazines, and writing several novels about the music industry.

Al Sarrantonio

Al Sarantonio is an expert editor in this field and he has edited collections of horror writing with top auithors of the genre including Stephen King.

Amelia Carr

Amelia Carr grew up in Somerset, where she lives today. She has written numerous short stories for magazines as well as a number of novels under another name. Her novels under the name Amelia Carr, including DANCE WITH WINGS and A SONG AT SUNSET, have been very warmly acclaimed.

Amy Molloy

Amy Molloy is 24 years old and, since graduating with a journalism degree in 2007, has worked for various magazines in London and Dublin. She is currently the features assistant at the Daily Mail's Weekend magazine.

Anne Stuart

Anne Stuart is a winner of Romance Writers of America's Lifetime Achievement Award. She's appeared on most bestseller lists, including the New York Times and USA Today. Read more about her on www.anne-stuart.com.

Arthur Conan Doyle

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was born in 1859 in Edinburgh, Scotland. He was a doctor by trade; optician more specifically. It is rumoured that during his off periods of work he would think about and write his various stories. He is well known for several science fiction works, but of course his most recognizable works are the Sherlock Holmes mysteries. He died in 1930.He tried desperately to "kill off" Holmes so that he could pursue other genres of writing as well, and not just be known for the Holmes mysteries. However, after much public outcry, Holmes returned in "The Empty House" and in many other stories following, up to the "Case Book of Sherlock Holmes" collection.

Bernardine Kennedy

Bernardine Kennedy was born in London but spent most of her childhood in Singapore and Nigeria before settling in Essex, where she still lives with her husband Ian. She also has a son, Stephen, and daughter, Kate. Her varied working life has included careers as an air hostess, a swimming instructor and a social worker. She has been a freelance writer for many years, specialising in popular travel features for magazines. Her previous novels, Everything is Not Enough, My Sisters' Keeper, Chain of Deception, Taken, Old Scores and Past Chances, are also available from Headline.

Billy Hopkins

Billy Hopkins (better known to his family and friends as Wilfred Hopkins) was born in Collyhurst in 1928 and attended schools in Manchester. Before going into higher education, he worked as a copy boy for the Manchester Guardian. He later studied at the Universities of London, Manchester and Leeds and was involved in school-teaching and teacher-training in Liverpool, Manchester, Salford and Glasgow. He also worked in African universities in Kenya, Zimbabwe and Malawi. Billy Hopkins, author, husband and father of six, died aged 83 in 2012.

Carolyn Turgeon

Carolyn Turgeon was born in Michigan and grew up in Illinois, Texas, Michigan and Pennsylvania. After graduating from Penn State, she earned a Master's in Comparative Literature from UCLA, and spent several years in New York working as a writer and editor. Godmother: The Secret Cinderella Story was her previous novel. She now lives in Pennsylvania, where she bellydances and plays the accordion. She loves old movies, burlesque shows, and drinking pink cocktails at the Algonquin Hotel.

Caspar Walsh

Caspar Walsh is a regular writer for BBC Radio 4, with broadcasts including the sixties gangster story Vincent Vice's Rainbow. The Prison Father, a critically acclaimed feature length docudrama, and the young offender docudrama, Inside Out, were based on his prison life experience. As a workshop facilitator in and out of prisons, he helps fathers and their families to rehabilitate by using his own experiences as an inspiration.

Cecily Von Ziegesar

Cecily von Ziegesar grew up in New York City and attended a private girls' school. She always wanted to be a writer, and she was always a gossip, so the GOSSIP GIRL and THE IT GIRL novels were inevitable.

Charlie Owen

Charlie Owen enjoyed a thirty-year career in the police service, serving with two forces in the Home Counties and London, reaching the rank of Inspector.

Dee Williams

Dee Williams was born and brought up in Rotherhithe in East London where her father worked as a stevedore in Surrey Docks. She lives in Hampshire, where she is also an active fundraiser for breast cancer awareness.