Related to: 'Lamplight on the Thames'

Harriet Evans

A PLACE FOR US

Welcome to Winterfold, a home built on love and lies... A PLACE FOR US is the brilliant new novel from Harriet Evans and is published in paperback on January 15th. To celebrate, we'll be revealing little treats every day from publication. Look out for extracts, video clips, fabulous competitions and much more!

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' heartwarming London saga, DANCE YOUR TROUBLES AWAY, is set during the Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.When Polly Pritchard learns that her husband has been killed in action, she brings up their young daughter Emmie alone. To make ends meet she gets a job at the Cherry Ballroom in West London and it is here that she meets James, a Canadian airman, and they fall in love. But then Polly's husband turns up, very much alive...Life is even harder for Polly after the war; James has gone; her husband is involved in a criminal gang; and their daughter suffers from an illness that leaves her deaf. But Polly's spirit remains strong and with courage and determination she find the happiness she and her daughter deserve.

Headline

Diamonds in Danby Walk

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

When the Lights Go Down

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

With a country on the brink of war, a young usherette is on the brink of heartache...This irresistible, heartwarming saga from Pam Evans, the bestselling author of In the Dark Streets Shining, is an unforgettable tale of love, hope and war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson.'History and Romance. A touching saga' - My WeeklyIt is 1938 and the threat of war looms on the streets of London. But, when the lights go down in the cinema aisles, usherette Daisy Blake is transported to a world of glamour and romance. Among the staff there is much merriment and Daisy soon falls in love with the handsome organist, Al Dawson. Then war is declared and, just after Al leaves for the frontline, Daisy discovers she's pregnant. Her mother is distraught; she doesn't think Al is right for her daughter and when Daisy's letters to him go unanswered, her mother encourages her to marry John, the cinema's projectionist, to spare her further heartache.As the blitz rages over London and disaster strikes, Daisy's morale is boosted by her work and her young son, Sam, brings her comfort and joy in the troubled times ahead...What Amazon readers are saying about When the Lights Go Down:'This book was great. Couldn't put it down, well worth reading' 'Like a fairy tale ending'

Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' family saga brings post-war London vividly to life as, amid rationing and food shortages, a young girl finds a passion for growing her own vegetables.It is February 1945 and April Green and her cousin Heather wonder if the war will ever end. Then the local pub in Chiswick takes a direct hit and April's father is killed in the blast. Life without him is hard to bear and April and her brother do all they can to help, particularly when their mother announces she is pregnant. Volunteering to tend her father's allotment, April discovers a passion for growing vegetables.Meanwhile, Winnie Benson is coming to terms with her husband's spinal injuries. He may never walk again and, until their son, George, returns from the Merchant Navy, Winnie must run their greengrocer's on her own. Once the war is over and George is home, things start to improve but rationing remains in force and fresh vegetables are hard to find. April's supply of home-grown produce couldn't be more welcome. And, before long, George can't help wishing he was the apple of her eye...

Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Headline

On Her Own Two Feet

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Bringing the Keep Fit movement vividly to life in 1940s' London, Pam Evans' family saga will inspire and enthral anyone who has ever dared to dream of a better life.In the middle of a party to celebrate the Silver Jubilee of King George V in 1935, Mollie Fisher's good-for-nothing husband walks out on his wife and baby girl. Luckily, Mollie has a loving family to turn to for help. Mollie's mother, Marge, is delighted to look after baby Esme while Mollie goes out to work. Meanwhile, her nan, Nora, encourages Mollie to join a local keep fit class, which opens her eyes to a whole new world. Determined to better herself, Mollie qualifies as a fitness instructor and starts to run her own classes for the local community, where she befriends a group of women she would never have known existed. But with the outbreak of the Second World War and the ever-present danger of losing her loved ones in the London bombings, it takes courage for Mollie to stand on her own two feet...

Headline

A Distant Dream

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A young dancer strives to make ends meet, but never gives up on her dreams. An inspiring family saga, Pam Evans' compelling tale, The Pride of Park Street, is sure to stay with you long after you finish the last page. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin. 'A gorgeous story...This book touched me very, very much...beautifully written...exciting reading. It's lovely' - North Wales ChronicleWhen Jess Mollitt gains a place with the famous Burton Girls dance troupe, appearing on the West End stage, it seems her dreams have finally come true. But then a family outing ends in tragedy, leaving her mother dead and her father a broken man, and Jess is forced to give up her career to look after her younger siblings, as well as manage the newsagents her father is no longer capable of running. Unable to contemplate a life without dance, it's not long before Jess is also running a hugely popular Saturday dance class for local children and this, combined with her blossoming friendship with neighbour Don Day, provides Jess with the saving grace she needs. But when the brother Don hates arrives on the scene, it seems Jess's problems may be only beginning... What readers are saying about The Pride of Park Street: 'Pamela Evans is amazing. I love her warm stories and this one does not disappoint, I feel like I'm transported back to the olden days in these stories. I just love them and recommend them to everyone. Well deserved five stars!' 'Sheer nostalgia'

Headline

Harvest Nights

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

The Great War may be over, but one young woman discovers that some battles can be much closer to home... Infidelity and long-kept secrets threaten to destroy a family in Pamela Evans' gripping between-wars saga, Harvest Nights. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Cathy Sharp.It's 1920, and ex-land girl Clara Tripp is back home in West London with her family. Despite her engagement to local boy Arnold, Clara is feeling trapped in her dead-end job and longs to return to the countryside. An unexpected meeting with old flame Charlie Fenner leads to a temporary job at his family's orchard in Kent. Clara is finally content, but the longer she spends with the Fenners, the more she begins to suspect that all is not what it seems. What is the dark secret that hangs over them all? As Clara's feelings for Charlie grow, she realises she has an enemy on the farm who wants her gone at any cost... What readers are saying about Harvest Nights: 'Another brilliant read from a brilliant author. I never wanted to put this book down. When you pick up a Pamela Evans book you know you're in for a great read' 'Couldn't put this book down, yet another brilliant book by Pamela Evans'

Headline

When The Boys Come Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Tideway Girls

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A heartrending saga of sisters separated by shame from much-loved author Pamela Evans.It's 1912, and, like all fisher folk in the village of Tideway, the Bow family live a simple life. Edie Bow loves her children dearly: handsome Henry, sensible Bessie, spirited May and little Sam. But one night tragedy strikes, and Henry is lost at sea. And when May falls pregnant out of wedlock, shamed Edie sends her daughter to London for an abortion. Determined to keep her child, May stays on in the city, away from her beloved sister Bessie. Torn apart, the girls must face their own struggles without each other, but through even the darkest night, a light burns strong: the love of a sister...

Headline

In The Dark Streets Shining

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Sparrows of Sycamore Road

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Through the good times and bad, the Sparrow family has always stuck together. But as the Blitz ravages London in 1940, each of the Sparrows has their own battle to fight. Nancy finds herself volunteering as a porter at busy Paddington station - a world away from the smart West End dress shop where she used to work. Young Mickey is sent to the front line, while little Leslie suffers as an evacuee. Nancy must summon all her strength to support her loved ones, but they are unaware the woman they rely on hides a painful secret...

Headline

Second Chance of Sunshine

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When Jess Mollitt gains a place with the famous Burton Girls dance troupe, appearing on the West End stage, it seems her dreams have finally come true. But then a family outing ends in tragedy, leaving her mother dead and her father a broken man, and Jess is forced to give up her career to look after her younger siblings, as well as manage the newsagents her father is no longer capable of running. Unable to contemplate a life without dance, its not long before Jess is also running a hugely popular Saturday dance class for local children and this, combined with her blossoming friendship with neighbour Don Day, provides Jess with the saving grace she needs. But when the brother Don hates arrives on the scene, it seems Jess's problems may be only beginning...

Headline

Town Belles

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Part of the Family

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Maggie of Moss Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Lamplight on the Thames

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans