Related to: 'Lamplight on the Thames'

Harriet Evans

A PLACE FOR US

Welcome to Winterfold, a home built on love and lies... A PLACE FOR US is the brilliant new novel from Harriet Evans and is published in paperback on January 15th. To celebrate, we'll be revealing little treats every day from publication. Look out for extracts, video clips, fabulous competitions and much more!

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A BRIGHTER DAY TOMORROW is a heartwarming and poignant saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Readers love Pam Evans' books: 'A touching novel' Daily ExpressWhen they're not working in a West London munitions factory, Liz Beck and her best friend Marg find time for fun and laughter at the local ice rink. Then a couple of handsome American servicemen sweep them off their feet and Marg's dream of becoming a GI bride looks like it might come true.Liz's sister Dora is jealous of the romance that blossoms between Victor and Liz but nothing can spoil Liz's happiness. Then tragedy strikes and Liz makes a discovery that causes a rift in her family. With almost nothing left to lose, she finds love and support where she least expects it and, as the war comes to an end, she hopes for a brighter day tomorrow...

Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Diamonds in Danby Walk

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton

Four of our most-loved saga authors invite you to join them on a journey through motherhood in this collection of heart-warming short stories.Daisy's Day by Anne BakerIt's 1920s Liverpool and Daisy must do everything she can to protect her children from poverty and disease. A mother's love is limitless...The First Strawberry by Pam EvansBombs are falling over London and times are hard for Rose and her family. That is until six-year-old Sydney and a little miracle restore all hope...The Birthday Surprise by Jennie FeltonSomerset, 1898. Can two daughters ease their mother's sorrows and bring her a birthday full of joy? How Memories Are Made by Lynda PageGinnie Owens is facing a devastating decision. But she's about to discover that just when all seems lost a mother's dreams can finally come true.

Headline

On Her Own Two Feet

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Distant Dream

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A loving family. A deadly illness. A country on the brink of war. Pam Evans, much-loved author of In the Dark Streets Shining, brings us an enthralling and heart-wrenching saga about the enduring power of love, courage and friendship during the dark days of war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Cathy Sharp. 'A superb and heartwarming read' - Irish IndependentIt's 1936 in West London, and fifteen-year-old May Stubbs and her family have endured the worst of The Depression. Looking forward to a more prosperous future, they take on a derelict cricket pavilion, convert it into a café and general store, and find it quickly becomes the hub of the community. Then May contracts tuberculosis, and the way ahead looks less certain. Leaving her best friend, Betty Lane, and lifelong soul mate, George Bailey, behind, she is sent away to fight off the illness. But on her return to London, she finds things have changed. And when war is declared, it is clear that serious complications and heartache lie in store for them all. What readers are saying about A Distant Dream: 'Where would the book world be without Pamela Evans books to brighten our day! I can't praise this book enough and am eagerly awaiting the next one from this author' 'Not just a wonderful story, but wonderful characters... you feel as though you have made new friends. I always thoroughly enjoy Pamela Evans books and think this one has to be one of her best'

Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A young dancer strives to make ends meet, but never gives up on her dreams. An inspiring family saga, Pam Evans' compelling tale, The Pride of Park Street, is sure to stay with you long after you finish the last page. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin. 'A gorgeous story...This book touched me very, very much...beautifully written...exciting reading. It's lovely' - North Wales ChronicleWhen Jess Mollitt gains a place with the famous Burton Girls dance troupe, appearing on the West End stage, it seems her dreams have finally come true. But then a family outing ends in tragedy, leaving her mother dead and her father a broken man, and Jess is forced to give up her career to look after her younger siblings, as well as manage the newsagents her father is no longer capable of running. Unable to contemplate a life without dance, it's not long before Jess is also running a hugely popular Saturday dance class for local children and this, combined with her blossoming friendship with neighbour Don Day, provides Jess with the saving grace she needs. But when the brother Don hates arrives on the scene, it seems Jess's problems may be only beginning... What readers are saying about The Pride of Park Street: 'Pamela Evans is amazing. I love her warm stories and this one does not disappoint, I feel like I'm transported back to the olden days in these stories. I just love them and recommend them to everyone. Well deserved five stars!' 'Sheer nostalgia'

Headline

Harvest Nights

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Infidelity and long-kept secrets threaten to destroy a family in Pamela Evans' gripping London saga.It's 1920, and ex-land girl Clara Tripp is back home in West London with her family. Despite her engagement to local boy Arnold, Clara is feeling trapped in her dead-end job and longs to return to the countryside. An unexpected meeting with old flame Charlie Fenner leads to a temporary job at his family's orchard in Kent. Clara is finally content, but the longer she spends with the Fenners, the more she begins to suspect that all is not what it seems. What is the dark secret that hangs over them all? As Clara's feelings for Charlie grow, she realises she has an enemy on the farm who wants her gone at any cost...

Headline

Under an Amber Sky

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

When The Boys Come Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

As German bombs wreak havoc on West London, for Morgan's Dairy it's business as usual. But when owner Dai Morgan is killed in an air raid, his daughter Megan is determined to continue in her father's footsteps and she braves the ravaged streets alone to do his milk round by horse and cart. Megan finds comfort in the knowledge that her twin girls are tucked away in a Welsh village, but she worries about her husband, Will, abroad with his platoon. And when Will's best friend, Doug Reynolds, returns, wounded and disfigured, she doesn't hesitate to take the poor man in. However, Doug is not the man she thinks he is. And when the boys come home, Megan has battle scars she can't allow Will to see...

Headline

In The Dark Streets Shining

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Sparrows of Sycamore Road

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Through the good times and bad, the Sparrow family has always stuck together. But as the Blitz ravages London in 1940, each of the Sparrows has their own battle to fight. Nancy finds herself volunteering as a porter at busy Paddington station - a world away from the smart West End dress shop where she used to work. Young Mickey is sent to the front line, while little Leslie suffers as an evacuee. Nancy must summon all her strength to support her loved ones, but they are unaware the woman they rely on hides a painful secret...

Headline

Second Chance of Sunshine

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Close to Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Where We Belong

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Song in your Heart

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Part of the Family

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Lizzie Smith has practically become part of the Carter family, and it is only fitting that she should eventually marry Stan, one of the Carter boys. But, as much as she loves Stan, Lizzie senses a darker side to him that his mother cannot see. It isn't long before his bitterness causes Lizzie to question her relationship, and ultimately leads to tragedy...

Headline

Maggie of Moss Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans