Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11)

Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11)

Leading a double life can be deadly…

Lawyer Penhallow is found murdered in his garden the morning after Mitchell drops off a secretive hitchhiker to the property in Call the Dead Again, the eleventh compelling English village mystery in the Mitchell & Markby series by Ann Granger. The perfect read for fans of Colin Dexter, Agatha Christie and ITV’s Midsomer Murders.

‘A really good read – this novel comes highly recommended’ – Crime Time

When Meredith Mitchell picks up a hitchhiker on a lonely road outside Bamford one evening she is left feeling distinctly uneasy. What business can this confident, yet secretive, young woman have at Tudor Lodge, the beautiful old home of Brussels-based lawyer Andrew Penhallow, where she asks to be dropped? Penhallow is constantly toing and froing from the Continent, but that night, unusually, he is at home, and – with his son away and his wife Carla in bed with a migraine – alone. Which is unfortunate, for the next morning he is found murdered in the garden.

To the vicarious delight of the locals, who are quick to recall old disputes, Penhallow’s death results in some spectacular revelations about his double life – developments which make the murder investigation all the more delicate for Superintendent Markby, who knew the dead man as a young body. Andrew Penhallow certainly had ghosts in his past – has one come back to claim him?

What readers are saying about Call the Dead Again:

‘So many twists and turnskept me guessing until the very end’

‘The mystery unravels nicely. Ann Granger provides genre fans with a fine entry to the Mitchell and Markby Cotswolds series’

‘Ann Granger is an excellent mystery writer
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 16th February 2012

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780755377299

Reviews

'The reader can expect a treat. Lively, different and fun'
Yorkshire Post
Praise for Ann Granger's previous crime novels: 'Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent'
The Times
'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines'
Yorkshire Post
'The plot is neat and ingenious, the characters rounded and touchingly credible, and the writing of this darkly humorous but humane and generous novel fluent, supple and a pleasure to read'
Ham and High
'Ann Granger's skill with character together with her sprightly writing make the most of the story....she is on to another winner'
Birmingham Post