Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Murder Among Us (Mitchell & Markby 4)

Murder Among Us (Mitchell & Markby 4)

A dispute between an entrepreneur and the village locals turns deadly…

A gala turns grisly in Murder Among Us, the fourth probing mystery in Ann Granger’s gripping Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Ann Purser, Agatha Christie and ITV’s Midsomer Murders.

‘Told with humour and a most engaging worldliness’ – Birmingham Post

When ambitious hotelier Eric Schucmacher announces he is to turn Springwood Hall, near the market town of Bamford, into a smart Cotswold country-house hotel, the news is greeted by a chorus of local disapproval, led by the redoubtable Hope Mapple. So the gala opening, to which all the disaffected parties have been invited, promises to be quite an event – not least because the amply upholstered Hope Mapple is planning a disruptive streak protest.

But Hope’s lightning dash is unexpectedly upstaged by a far more shocking event: the discovery of a recently murdered body on the premises. The victim is a local woman, and for Chief Inspectory Markby and his guest Meredith Mitchell what had promised to be a diverting summer treat suddenly turns into a horribly serious affair …

What readers are saying about Murder Among Us:

‘A truly intriguing and sympathetic book’

‘A wonderful village mystery, that satisfies on all levels. Her [Ann Granger’s] cast of characters are all wonderfully eccentric and provide you with many hours of joy’

‘These stories are intricate enough to make you think and easy to read at the same time’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 9th December 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755377176

Reviews

'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines'
Yorkshire Post
'The plot is neat and ingenious, the characters rounded and touchingly credible, and the writing of this darkly humorous but humane and generous novel fluent, supple and a pleasure to read'
Ham and High
'The reader can expect a treat. Lively, different and fun'
Yorkshire Post
'Ann Granger's skill with character together with her sprightly writing make the most of the story....she is on to another winner'
Birmingham Post
Praise for Ann Granger's previous crime novels: 'Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent'
The Times