Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Shades of Murder (Mitchell & Markby 13)

Shades of Murder (Mitchell & Markby 13)

A mansion, a murder and a century-long mystery…

Shades of Murder is the thirteenth mystery in the Mitchell & Markby series by Ann Granger, who is highly praised for her strong and appealing characters, wit and engrossing plots. The perfect read for fans of M.C. Beaton, Agatha Christie and ITV’s Midsomer Murders.

‘The narrative keeps the reader gripped until the end’ – Wiltshire Times

In 1889 Cora Oakley died by inhaling a poisonous gas in her sleep, and her husband William was put on trial for her murder. Over a hundred years later, the only remaining members of the family are two elderly sisters who live in the ancestral home. Unable to maintain the mansion, the sisters decide to sell up and live off the proceeds.

Then a young Polish man named Jan appears, claiming to be William Oakley’s great-grandson and threatening to ruin the sisters’ plans. When he is found dead, it seems that the shadow of murder has returned to haunt the Oakley family again, and Superintendent Markby must look back at the events of a century ago to find the killer…

What readers are saying about Shades of Murder:

‘The characterisation and dialogue are as sharp as ever, and the plot is great!’

‘The characters were well drawn in both past and present strands of the book with some very neat twists

Two separate murder mysteries, unfolding in turn, chapter by chapter, gave me double delight
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 9th December 2010

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780755382064

Reviews

Interesting, persuasive characters... A good read
Kirkus Reviews
These books keep getting better and better
Poisoned Pen
Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent
The Times