We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Pocketful of Silver

A Pocketful of Silver

Some secrets cannot remain buried forever…

Anne Baker’s thrilling saga, A Pocketful of Silver, follows a young woman growing up amidst clouds of secrets and intrigue, and her journey to discovery. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.


It’s 1920, and Ellie Valentino is just like any other happy five-year-old growing up in Birkenhead. Although her father is dead, and her mother works hard, Ellie’s grandmother, Bridie, is always there to provide a welcoming hug when the little girl returns from school. But, one tragic day, Ellie’s secure world is suddenly torn apart with the mysterious death of her mother, and Ellie is forced to live with her uncle Mick, a man with a violent temper. As the years pass, Ellie’s yearning to know the truth about her mother’s death never fades – it even casts a shadow over her blossoming romance with childhood friend, Franco Baldini. For Franco knows more about that fateful day than he dares admit, especially to Ellie. Can their love survive when Ellie longs to uncover events that Franco is desperate to forget? And will Ellie ever find out what really happened to her mother?

What readers are saying about A Pocketful of Silver:

‘Definitely recommend, these books are very well written and they’re hard to put down once you’ve started’

Brilliant book and a great story – a very enjoyable read’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 26th April 2012

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755382415

Reviews

With characters who are strong, warm and sincere, this is a joy to read
Coventry Evening Telegraph
Baker's understanding and compassion for very human dilemmas makes her one of romantic fiction's most popular authors
Lancashire Evening Post
A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition
Liverpool Echo
A heartwarming saga
Woman’s Weekly
A compelling book that you just don't want to put down
Southport Visitor