We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Wartime Girls

Wartime Girls

A tragic accident throws a young woman’s life into disarray, as the storm clouds of war begin to loom…

Set in Liverpool during the Depression and the Blitz of the Second World War, Anne Baker’s dramatic saga, Wartime Girls, brings a close-knit community vividly to life. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries.


It is the day of the Grand National, 1933, when Susie Ingram’s fiancé, Danny, is killed in a tragic accident. In a cruel twist of Fate, Susie discovers she is carrying Danny’s child and, shunned by his parents, she turns to her mother for support. Louise Ingram, widowed during the First World War, knows how hard it is to bring up a family alone, but with the help of her eldest daughter, Martha, who lives next door, they manage to survive. When little Rosie is born there is no doubt that she is Danny’s daughter, but it is destined to take many more years of heartache before the two families are united again…

What readers are saying about Wartime Girls:

‘Definitely recommend this book. Excellent story – wouldn’t hesitate to give five stars

‘Another excellent Anne Baker novel, and fans will not be disappointed. Characters come to life in this family war story’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 18th December 2014

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781472212283

Reviews

Baker's understanding and compassion for very human dilemmas makes her one of romantic fiction's most popular authors
Lancashire Evening Post
A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition
Liverpool Echo
Truly compelling...rich in language and descriptive prose
Newcastle Upon Tyne Evening Chronicle
A heartwarming saga
Woman’s Weekly
With characters who are strong, warm and sincere, this is a joy to read
Coventry Evening Telegraph