Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Dangerous Mourning (William Monk Mystery, Book 2)

A Dangerous Mourning (William Monk Mystery, Book 2)

A shocking stabbing leads Monk to an astonishing solution…

In the second novel to feature William Monk and Hester Latterly,
New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry weaves a gripping mystery in A Dangerous Mourning, as the death of a young woman leads the pair into the upper echelons of society and the secrets that lie there. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.

‘Perry [has two] strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist’ – Wall Street Journal

No breath of scandal has ever touched the aristocratic Moidore family. London’s wealthiest and most influential can often be found taking tea or dining in the opulent family mansion of Sir Basil Moidore in Queen Anne Street.

Now Sir Basil’s beautiful widowed daughter has been stabbed to death in her own bed, a shocking and incomprehensible tragedy. Inspector William Monk is ordered to find her killer without delay – and in a manner that will give least pain to her family.

Handicapped by his inept supervisor and the lingering traces of amnesia, Monk gropes warily through the silence and shadows that obscure the case. But with the intelligent help of Hester Latterly, he begins to approach the astonishing solution, step by dangerous step.

What readers are saying about A Dangerous Mourning:

Great period atmosphere, excellent story with a good twist at the end’

Excellent background, interesting protagonists and fascinating insight into historical period’

Historical fiction at its best
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th September 2013

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781472211781

Reviews

Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Absorbing... Perry continues her excellent renderings of Victorian manners and mayhem
Chicago Sun-Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
Praise for Anne Perry: [Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
Wall Street Journal
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly