Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Funeral in Blue (William Monk Mystery, Book 12)

A Funeral in Blue (William Monk Mystery, Book 12)

To solve the case, Monk must face the demons of his past…

Monk comes up against a former adversary in Anne Perry’s gripping murder mystery A Funeral in Blue. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


Funeral in Blue captures and retains the reader’s undivided attention… The plot is intriguing on its own, but it becomes fascinating as Perry, with each new avenue of the investigation, seamlessly explores the nature of truth and the price at which it comes’ – Virginian Pilot

When her brother arrives on her doorstep, Hester Monk is shocked – as much by the unexpectedness of the visit as by the reason for it. For since her marriage to Monk, Charles and his elegant wife, Imogen, have kept their distance. But now Charles needs Hester’s help. He believes Imogen is having an affair – there can be no other explanation for her recent strange behaviour.

However, before Hester is able to investigate, a tragedy occurs. In a nearby artist’s studio two women have been brutally killed. Having left the police force with extreme ill feeling between himself and his superior, the last thing Monk wants to do is face the demons of his past. But, in the course of his work, Monk is left with no choice but to visit his old adversary, Runcorn, and involve himself with the sensational murder case.

What readers are saying about A Funeral in Blue:

‘The mystery appears unsolvable and there is a dramatic denouement with the inclusion of an unlikely ally’

‘A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seedy side of Victorian London’

‘Anne Perry is the best Victorian crime [writer] I have ever read’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th September 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472211750

Reviews

Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
The pages fly... Once again we're in the capable hands of [the] reigning monarch of the Victorian mystery
People Magazine
Praise for Anne Perry: Funeral in Blue captures and retains the reader's undivided attention... The plot is intriguing on its own, but it becomes fascinating as Perry, with each new avenue of the investigation, seamlessly explores the nature of truth and the price at which it comes
The Virginian Pilot
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
An old-style private eye novel - and an extremely good one... No one writes more elegantly than Perry, nor better conjures up the rich and colorful tapestry of London in the Victorian era
The Plain Dealer
Perry's historical mysteries suggestively peel away layer after layer of Victorian respectability until the underlying social evils of a gilded era are exposed in all their naked truth
New York Times Book Review
Highly recommended... another gripping Victorian spellbinder
Library Journal
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune