Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Sunless Sea (William Monk Mystery, Book 18)

A Sunless Sea (William Monk Mystery, Book 18)

Can Monk uncover the truth behind a deadly opium conspiracy?

Propelled into the darkest corners of the opium trade, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry sends Inspector Monk on a thrilling adventure in A Sunless Sea, the eighteenth novel featuring the charismatic detective. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘Anne Perry’s Victorian mysteries are marvels’ – New York Times Book Review

1864 and on the bank of the Thames, Monk is appalled at the shocking mutilation visited upon the body of a woman found on Limehouse Pier. But when enquiries into the brutal killing unearth a connection between the victim and Dr Lambourn, a brilliant, recently deceased scientist and staunch supporter for a new pharmaceutical bill aimed to regulate the sale of opium, it becomes clear that not all is as it seems. Lambourn’s widow refuses to believe the official verdict that her husband’s death was suicide; she is convinced that he was murdered after the research he was conducting was discredited by government officials intent on keeping the lucrative trade of opium flowing.

With pressure mounting for the river police to find the Limehouse killer, Monk is propelled headlong into an investigation that will delve into the darkest depths of the opium trade and threaten to expose corruption in the very highest echelons of society…

What readers are saying about A Sunless Sea:

Perry is an agile word painter – so perfectly describing the sights and sounds of Victorian London from the dark Limehouse area to the posh West End that one feels transported to a different time and place

The reader becomes immersed in the tension

The characters are believable, the storyline ingenious and the reader [is kept] guessing right to the end’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 12th April 2012

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9780755386215

Reviews

Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Absorbing... Perry continues her excellent renderings of Victorian manners and mayhem
Chicago Sun-Times
Praise for Anne Perry: Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels
New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly