Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Acceptable Loss (William Monk Mystery, Book 17)

Acceptable Loss (William Monk Mystery, Book 17)

As a past case returns to haunt Monk, can he find justice for the innocent?

Inspector William Monk once again faces a dangerous foe in Acceptable Loss, the seventeenth novel in Anne Perry’s acclaimed series. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.


‘[An Anne Perry novel can] take us away to the far reaches of our imaginations, to a place and a time about which we can only dream… We see the gaslight, we feel the fog, and in Perry’s latest, Acceptable Loss, we experience the horror of murder, blackmail and sordid crime, as well as the shining victory of heroic sacrifice and personal courage’ – Asbury Park Press

In 1864, Monk and his wife Hester are doing their best to care for Scuff, a homeless boy recovering from a terrifying ordeal at the hands of Jericho Phillips, the runner of a child prostitution ring. Although Scuff’s evil abductor is dead, there is no suggestion that the ring has been broken and Scuff is certain that more children are suffering an even worse fate.

Monk is determined to find the remaining children and uncover the men funding the operation. And when the body of small-time crook Mickey Parfitt washes up on Mortlake’s shore, it fortuitously points him in the right direction. But as Monk’s investigation continues, the reputations of respected gentlemen start being called into question and his task becomes fraught with unforeseen dangers. In an illicit world of blackmail, vice and corruption, Monk must follow the trail – and his conscience – wherever it leads, no matter how disturbing the truth may be.

What readers are saying about Acceptable Loss:

There is no one who better captures the Victorian period. From the homes of the wealthy, to the lowest, meanest parts of London, [Anne Perry] creates a fully-realised world

‘A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seedy side of Victorian London’

‘Anne Perry is the best Victorian crime [writer] I have ever read’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 14th April 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376872

Reviews

Fascinating and fast-paced... will keep readers entranced
Wichita Falls Times Record News
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Terrific... Readers will not be prepared for the twists and turns that lay in wait
Bookreporter
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
[An Anne Perry novel can] take us away to the far reaches of our imaginations, to a place and a time about which we can only dream... We see the gaslight, we feel the fog, and in Perry's latest, Acceptable Loss, we experience the horror of murder, blackmail and sordid crime, as well as the shining victory of heroic sacrifice and personal courage
Asbury Park Press
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman