Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Blind Justice (William Monk Mystery, Book 19)

Blind Justice (William Monk Mystery, Book 19)

If protecting the innocent means breaking the law, what is the right choice to make?

Inspector William Monk searches for the elusive truth in a controversial and dangerous case in Blind Justice, the nineteenth novel in Anne Perry’s acclaimed series. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Arthur Conan Doyle.


‘A staggering achievement… Perry’s command of plot and prose shines’ – Bookreporter

Oliver Rathbone, William Monk’s close friend, has presided brilliantly over his first cases as a judge. But the next will bring a far greater challenge. Abel Taft, a charismatic minister adored by his congregation, stands accused of terrible corruption and fraud which has ruined the lives of those he’s betrayed.

In court, each victim affirms Taft’s guilt, but when the defence’s star witness tears their stories apart, the case seems lost. Rathbone realises he holds, locked away, a piece of evidence that could change the outcome of the trial and bring true justice, but can he, as the judge, become involved? The decision Rathbone makes will draw Monk deep into a dangerous case that will shape the rest of both their lives…

Winner of the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award for Best Historical Novel 2014.

What readers are saying about Blind Justice:

‘I have found Anne Perry to be one of the best writers I have read. Her books are very atmospheric and I feel that I am actually in Victorian London

‘A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seedy side of Victorian London’

‘Anne Perry is the best Victorian crime [writer] I have ever read’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 11th April 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755397167

Reviews

With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Gripping... Those who love Victorian England will relish Ms. Perry's presentation of period details. Her mastery of this time and place gives credence to the characters' moral and legal struggles
New York Journal of Books
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
Praise for Anne Perry: A staggering achievement... Perry's command of plot and prose shines
Bookreporter
Ranks among the best [Anne] Perry has written. Her courtroom scenes have the realism of Scott Turow
Huntington News
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review