Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Blood on the Water (William Monk Mystery, Book 20)

Blood on the Water (William Monk Mystery, Book 20)

A deadly act of terror on the Thames leads William Monk into a treacherous world…

Blood on the Water is the twentieth novel in Anne Perry’s William Monk mysteries, which draws the reader into a treacherous Victorian world where the powerful seek to buy justice, and no one is safe. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.


‘Engaging and sharply observed’ – New York Times Book Review

It is a time of progress, with the Empire’s interests expanding and the contentious new Suez Canal nearing completion. Many people stand to gain – and to lose – as the world rapidly changes.

When a Thames pleasure boat is blown up with the loss of many lives, an Egyptian man is quickly sentenced to hang for the crime. But William Monk, head of the River Police, discovers the evidence was flawed. As he and his wife Hester investigate further, Monk begins to wonder if the wrong man was convicted. If justice itself has been tainted, exposing the true culprit will be far more dangerous…

What readers are saying about Blood on the Water:

‘Perry is such a fine writer. Her descriptions are wonderfully evocative

‘This is another brilliant read – full of twists and turns and a really unexpected ending. Fantastic

‘Was an absolutely riveting read – I read a lot of Anne Perry’s books as I love the twists and turns and unpredictability, I didn’t see the end of this one coming at all
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 10th April 2014

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755397228

Reviews

Absorbing... Perry continues her excellent renderings of Victorian manners and mayhem
Chicago Sun-Times
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
Praise for Anne Perry: Engaging and sharply observed
New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman