Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Corridors of the Night (William Monk Mystery, Book 21)

Corridors of the Night (William Monk Mystery, Book 21)

When their own lives are at risk, some people will do anything to survive…

Corridors of the Night is the twenty-first exceptional historical thriller featuring William and Hester Monk, from the Queen of Victorian crime Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.

‘Pulls no punches and depicts Victorian London in all its corrupt glory’ – Bookreporter

One night, in a corridor of the Royal Naval Hospital, Greenwich, Nurse Hester Monk is approached by a terrified girl. She’s from a hidden ward of children, all subject to frequent blood-letting, and her brother is dying.

While William Monk’s River Police fight to keep London safe from gun-runners, Hester takes on a new role at the hospital, helping to administer a secretive new treatment. But she slowly realises that this experimental cure is putting the lives of the children at risk. Attempting to protect the young victims, she comes under threat from one rich, powerful, and very ill man who is desperate to survive…

What readers are saying about Corridors of the Night:

‘I truly could not put this book down. The suspense had me in the edge of my seat and the subject matter had me hooked!

‘A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seamy side of Victorian London’

‘Anne Perry is the best Victorian crime [writer] I have ever read’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 23rd April 2015

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781472219497

Reviews

When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Anne Perry has once again evocatively and meticulously conjured up Victorian London... This is one of her best as she continues probing... the dark impulses that haunt all human souls
Providence Journal
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
Praise for Anne Perry: Pulls no punches and depicts Victorian London in all its corrupt glory
Bookreporter
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
[A] suspenseful, twisting narrative
Historical Novels Review
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer