Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dark Assassin (William Monk Mystery, Book 15)

Dark Assassin (William Monk Mystery, Book 15)

The two figures had been on the bridge. He had grasped hold of her. To save her, or to push her?

Newly appointed Inspector Monk faces a sinister murder plot in Dark Assassin, the fifteenth novel featuring the enigmatic detective from the Queen of Victorian crime, Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘Brilliant… That rare blend of novel that’s a page-turning thriller yet literary… Dark Assassin continues Author Perry’s peerless tradition of blending compelling plotting with finely realized human emotion and superb period detail’ – Jeffery Deaver

Inspector William Monk is still feeling his way in a new post in the Thames River Police and knows he must solve the mystery to gain the respect of his men. Soon both he and Hester find themselves powerfully involved in the story of the dead woman, Mary Havilland, and her quest to vindicate her father, found dead two months previously. An engineer working for the Argyll Construction Company, James Havilland was convinced a major disaster would happen in the tunnels where London’s desperately needed new sewer system was being built. Maddened by his obsession, he’d apparently shot himself. Mary had never accepted that and now she was dead too. Was it chance or something more sinister?

What readers are saying about Dark Assassin:

‘Anne Perry surpasses each novel she writes with further brilliance. This is a complex, superbly crafted plot

‘Perry is so convincing in her research and her prose is exquisite

Excellent story, really could not put it down. Well written, atmospheric, I felt I was there with the characters’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755382774

Reviews

Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
Praise for Anne Perry: Brilliant... That rare blend of novel that's a page-turning thriller yet literary... Dark Assassin continues Author Perry's peerless tradition of blending compelling plotting with finely realized human emotion and superb period detail
Jeffery Deaver
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Anne Perry is a cross between Charles Dickens and Ian Rankin, writing beautifully crafted Victorian crime
Henry Sutton, <i> The Mirror </i>
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer