Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Death of a Stranger (William Monk Mystery, Book 13)

Death of a Stranger (William Monk Mystery, Book 13)

William and Hester become wrapped up in two separate cases – but are they as unconnected as they first seem?

Staggering revelations and a shocking murder propel the Monks into fresh dangers in Anne Perry’s gripping mystery Death of a Stranger. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Arthur Conan Doyle.


‘Few mystery writers this side of Arthur Conan Doyle can evoke Victorian London with such relish for detail and mood’ – San Francisco Chronicle

Hester Monk’s voluntary work in Coldbath Square is increasingly demanding. Every night she tends to a stream of women of the streets who have been injured or become ill as a result of their trade. But the injuries are becoming more serious, and now a body has been discovered in one of the area’s brothels. The dead man is none other than the wealthy and respectable Nolan Baltimore, head of Baltimore and Sons, a successful railway company. With calls for the police to clean up the streets, Hester decides she must intervene to protect these women who stand to lose everything.

Meanwhile her husband, William Monk, has been approached by Katrina Harcus, who suspects that the company her fiancé works for may be guilty of fraud. That company is Baltimore and Sons. As Monk endeavours to prevent a serious crime, possibly even a tragedy, taking place, he faces some staggering revelations. And with the link between the two cases becoming ever clearer, Monk finds that the time has come to confront his own demons – even if it means losing all that he now holds dear…

What readers are saying about Death of a Stranger:

‘Anne Perry’s 13th addition to the Monk series is fast paced, exciting and as dark as you’d expect’

I cannot fault this latest offering from the “Queen of Crime“… I literally couldn’t put it down!

‘A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seamy side of Victorian London’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755383153

Reviews

Praise for Anne Perry: Few mystery writers this side of Arthur Conan Doyle can evoke Victorian London with such relish for detail and mood
San Francisco Chronicle
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly