Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Defend and Betray (William Monk Mystery, Book 3)

Defend and Betray (William Monk Mystery, Book 3)

Can Monk beat the clock and prevent an innocent woman from going to the gallows, before it’s too late?

The third novel featuring Investigator Monk is a thrilling mystery of Victorian England from the acclaimed author Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘A richly textured and timeless novel of suspense. Anne Perry’s Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters’ – Faye Kellerman

After a brilliant military career in India, General Thaddeus Carlyon finally meets death not in the frenzy of battle, but at a London dinner party, in what appears to be a freak accident. But the General’s beautiful wife readily confesses that she killed him – a story she clings to even under the shadow of the gallows.

Investigator William Monk, nurse Hester Latterly and Oliver Rathbone, counsel for the defence, work feverishly to break down the silence of the accused and her husband’s proud family; and with the trial only days away they inch towards the appalling heart of the mystery.

What readers are saying about Defend and Betray:

‘As brilliant and absorbing as ever… This was gripping. Great writing and brilliant characters

Catches the atmosphere of the time really well. Anne Perry always tells a great story, keeps you turning pages and always wanting more

‘A very good read. Hooked from front page to last
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th September 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472211798

Reviews

Praise for Anne Perry: Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
Absorbing... Perry continues her excellent renderings of Victorian manners and mayhem
Chicago Sun-Times
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Anne Perry's Victorian mysteries are marvels of plot construction... truly remarkable
New York Times
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal