Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Execution Dock (William Monk Mystery, Book 16)

Execution Dock (William Monk Mystery, Book 16)

Has Monk met his most dangerous and elusive opponent yet?

The death of a young boy leads Monk into one of his most dangerous cases yet in the sixteenth book in Anne Perry’s brilliant William Monk series Execution Dock. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Arthur Conan Doyle.


‘Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry’s admirers’ – Publishers Weekly

It’s 1864, and after a game of cat and mouse, Monk has captured Jericho Phillips, the man he suspects of brutally killing a young mudlark and running an evil child prostitution ring. In bringing Phillips to justice, Monk hopes to close down the ring and avenge the memory of Durban, his old commander, who was determined to capture Philips. However, at trial justice does not prevail. Oliver Rathbone, Monk’s friend, is hired anonymously to represent the accused and when he proves that vital evidence is missing, Phillips is freed. As Monk begins the investigation again, venturing deeper into London’s murky underworld, he realises that Durban may have had his own reasons for pursuing Phillips, and shockingly, that secret support for Phillips may reach further into civilised society than anyone could ever have imagined…

What readers are saying about Execution Dock:

‘Ms Perry’s books inform, entertain, and make me thinkwhat more can a reader ask for?

‘[A] compelling, assiduously plotted story’

‘Well written with a gripping story line… You really feel the dirt and squalor of Victorian London
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755382781

Reviews

When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Praise for Anne Perry: Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry's admirers
Publishers Weekly
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Absorbing... Perry continues her excellent renderings of Victorian manners and mayhem
Chicago Sun-Times
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review