Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Slaves and Obsession (William Monk Mystery, Book 11)

Slaves and Obsession (William Monk Mystery, Book 11)

All’s fair in love and war…

The advent of the American Civil War brings new intrigue to Monk’s Victorian London in Anne Perry’s masterful novel Slaves and Obsession. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.


‘Perry has here provided a meticulously plotted crime story with alibis and deception leading unerringly to the solution’ – Scotsman

In the American Civil War the opposing armies are desperate for arms. A London trader selling weapons to the South faces a moral dilemma when his daughter, in love with a Confederate, insists he change sides. When he is brutally murdered, her lover is the immediate suspect. William and Hester Monk must bring the pair back from the front line in America to face justice in an English court.

What readers are saying about Slaves and Obsession:

One of Anne Perry’s best…A really enjoyable and gripping book’

‘A riveting mystery wrapped up in the dark and seamy side of Victorian London’

‘Anne Perry is the best Victorian crime [writer] I have ever read’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 26th September 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472211835

Reviews

Perry's characters are richly drawn and the plot satisfyingly serpentine. However, the best element in this novel is Perry's depiction of the excitement preceding and the butchery during the Battle of Bull, reminiscent of Thackeray's unflinching portrait of Waterloo in Vanity Fair. As Hester uses her Crimean War nursing experience to aid the strocken soldiers, her feelings of revulsion and inadequacy are especially compelling. A remarkable addition to the Perry canon
Booklist
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Praise for Anne Perry: Perry has here provided a meticulously plotted crime story with alibis and deception leading unerringly to the solution
The Scotsman
Anne Perry's creation of William Monk, the nineteenth-century private investigator, has proved a welcome and original addition to the crime fiction genre... stylish and highly-individual murder mystery
Yorkshire Evening Post
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly