Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Silent Cry (William Monk Mystery, Book 8)

The Silent Cry (William Monk Mystery, Book 8)

A witness who won’t speak – how will Monk solve the case?

Investigator Monk is called in to help an old friend on one of his most complex cases in
New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry’s unputdownable mystery The Silent Cry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.

‘[Perry’s] early-Victorian series… has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London’s underclasses’ – New York Times Book Review

In the dead of night in a notorious area of Victorian London’s East End known as St Giles, a factory girl stumbles over the bloody bodies of two City gentlemen. When Detective John Evan finally arrives at the scene, he is confronted by a most difficult investigation. First he must identify the men. Then he must find out why men of means and social standing would go to such a sordid area. Most importantly, who are their assailants? And how could they escape unharmed and unnoticed?

Mercifully the younger victim is not quite dead. Having sustained terrible internal injuries, he’s later released home from hospital severely traumatised and unable to speak – to be told that the other victim, his father, is dead, and Hester Latterly has been employed to help nurse him back to full recovery.

With too many obstacles impeding his progress, Evan finally enlists the aid of his old friend, William Monk, who, together with Hester’s help, must unravel one of his most complex and shocking cases yet.

What readers are saying about The Silent Cry:

An extraordinary book

‘Challenging right to the end and a thoroughly good read

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th September 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472211866

Reviews

With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
Publishers Weekly
The action careers between the low- and high-born in Victorian society. The denouement is shocking, and the characters are so richly drawn that you'll miss them when they're gone
Los Angeles Times
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
Praise for Anne Perry: [Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
Absorbing... Perry continues her excellent renderings of Victorian manners and mayhem
Chicago Sun-Times