Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Gifted School

The Gifted School

Ambitious parents, wilful kids, and the pursuit of prestige – no matter the cost… A gripping page-turner, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies.

‘Wise and addictive… an incisive inspection of privilege, race and class.’ The New York Times

In the peaceful, privileged community of Crystal, Colorado, a group of close friends are raising their families in harmony.

Until one day, news begins to spread that a ‘gifted school’ will be opening its doors in their town. There are only a few prestigious places, and the competition will be ferocious.

As parents and children begin to compete, cracks start to show in this picturesque community. Fault lines appear between friends and siblings, in marriages and careers, as old resentments start to simmer and long-buried secrets threaten to detonate under the pressure…

Just how far will these parents go to give their children a good education, and what will be the ultimate price?

Praise for The Gifted School…

‘A funny and perceptive account of a dilemma that is being played out all over the globe… more than a touch of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies
THE OBSERVER

Snapping with tension, this is a book for our times. It will push a lot of buttons for a lot of people
SHARI LAPENA, AUTHOR OF THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR

Like Big Little Lies with standardized testinga deeply pleasurable read
MEG WOLITZER, AUTHOR OF THE FEMALE PERSUASION

‘The summer read that predicted the college-admissions scandal
THE WALL STREET JOURNAL

‘Exposes how easily a mix of good intentions, self-delusions, and minor sins can escalate’
THE NEW YORKER

[A] timely and relevant read for the summer’
OPRAHMAG.COM

A (hilariously) timely book that explores the lengths to which privileged parents will go to get their kids a top education’
NEW YORK POST

Dramas like these feel so on the pulse of modern times
MAGIC BOOK CLUB

‘If you loved the shananigans of the pushy parents in TV hit Big Little Lies you’ll love this scorching novel . . . bitingly dark
PETERBOROUGH TELEGRAPH

Relevant and relatable
I PAPER
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 15th October 2019

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781472271525

Reviews

'A funny and perceptive account of a dilemma that is being played out all over the globe... more than a touch of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies'
The Observer
If you loved the shananigans of the pushy parents in TV hit Big Little Lies you'll love this scorching novel . . . bitingly dark'
Peterborough Telegraph
Relevant and relatable
i paper