Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

A missing couple. A lurking killer. A perfect storm.

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns to solve a dark and dangerous case on a small Irish island in the taut and terrifying BLOOD TIDE, the fifth novel in Claire McGowan’s acclaimed series. The perfect read for fans of Joy Ellis and Karin Slaughter.

‘A brilliantly executed thriller with a haunting and atmospheric setting. Spine tingling’ – Sunday Mirror

Called in to investigate the disappearance of a young couple during a violent storm, Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist, has mixed feelings about going back to Bone Island. Her last family holiday as a child was spent on its beautiful, remote beaches and returning brings back haunting memories of her long-lost mother.

It soon becomes clear that outsiders aren’t welcome on the island, and with no choice but to investigate the local community, Paula soon suspects foul play, realising that the islanders are hiding secrets from her, and each other.

With another storm fast approaching, Paula is faced with a choice. Leave alive or risk being trapped with a killer on an inescapable island, as the blood tide rushes in…

What readers are saying about Blood Tide:

‘A very clever plot with many shocking moments. The island setting added to the atmosphere as did the ongoing storm. What a terrific book’

‘I caught myself holding my breath as I followed the characters avidly. This is definitely the series that keeps on giving and keeps getting better

‘A masterfully plotted and executed novel. The pace never lets up, with new developments in every chapter. An excellent read’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 23rd March 2017

Price: £12.99

ISBN-13: 9781472228192

Reviews

Plenty of intrigue makes this a must read
Fanny Blake, Woman & Home
The best of the Paula series yet; weird, intriguing, gripping and original
Stav Sherez
A knockout new talent
Lee Child
Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell
Ken Bruen
Astonishing, powerful and immensely satisfying
Peter James
I read The Silent Dead with my heart in my mouth . . . brilliant
Erin Kelly
A delicious spookiness is added to McGowan's customary mix of complex characterisation and sweat-inducing excitement, offering a new level of chilling thrills
Sunday Express
A brilliantly executed thriller with a haunting and atmospheric setting. Spine tingling
Sunday Mirror
A spine-tingling, brilliantly haunting and atmospheric thriller
People
A complex, disturbing, resonant novel that remains light on its feet and immensely entertaining
Irish Times
Page-turning
Guardian
The best of the Paula series yet; weird, intriguing, gripping and original
Stav Sherez
I read The Silent Dead with my heart in my mouth . . . brilliant
Erin Kelly
A reminder why McGowan has been described as Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell
Independent
This is a powerful and disturbing novel
Book Oxygen
An intelligent and thought-provoking read and I can't WAIT to see where Paula goes from here!
My Chestnut Reading Tree </i>blog<i>
Another great story in an increasingly impressive series
Louise Reviews </i>blog<i>
The perfect mix of drama, intrigue and mystery along with a dash of Northern Irish and Irish history
Ginger Book Geek blog
Nail-biting! The creepy and harsh setting . . . made the events on this island and its inhabitants even more chilling
Chillers, Killers and Thrillers blog
McGowan has created a world evocative enough to get lost in
Real Crime </i>magazine