Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Kids of Appetite

Kids of Appetite

KIDS OF APPETITE by David Arnold is a tragicomedy of first love and devastating loss for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Jennifer Niven.

In the Hackensack Police Department, Vic Benucci and his friend Mad are explaining how they found themselves wrapped up in a grisly murder. But in order to tell that story, they have to go way back…

It all started when Vic’s dad died. Vic’s dad was his best friend, and even now, two years later, he can’t bring himself to touch the Untouchable Urn of Oblivion that sits in his front hall. But one cold December day, Vic falls in with an alluring band of kids that wander his New Jersey neighbourhood, including Mad, the girl who changes everything. Along with his newfound friendships comes the courage to open his father’s urn, the discovery of the message inside, and the epic journey it sparks.
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories

On Sale: 20th September 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472218957

Reviews

Fresh and often very endearing
Sunday Herald
Showcases a memorable cast of outsiders carving out space for themselves . . .Arnold writes with a Hinton-esque depth and rawness
Publishers Weekly, starred review
Praise for MOSQUITOLAND: '[Mosquitoland] boasts a funny, gutsy, straight-talking heroine with a distinctive voice, whose company is a blast of fresh air'
Daily Mail
[Mim's] endless wise-cracking (on a road trip by Greyhound bus to visit her sick mother) is a joy
Independent - Best YA novels of 2015
Funny and touching... his sentences are arrows
New York Times
[A] sparkling, startling, laugh-out-loud debut novel
Wall Street Journal
This tale of kids dealing with horrific situations is at times almost fantastical in its romanticism and is realized through the employ of spot-on pacing and lovely wordsmithing. Sophisticated teen readers will love this
Kirkus Reviews