We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472291080

Price: £20

ON SALE: 2nd August 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

An extremely powerful and gripping thriller, the perfect read for fans of Breaking Bad and Stephen King.

“Some of the finest, most terrifying and heartbreaking writing you will read this year. The Devil Takes You Home is not to be missed.” S.A. Cosby, New York Times-bestselling author of Razorblade Tears and Blacktop Wasteland

“The Devil Takes You Home is an unforgettable neo-noir nightmare written with a poet’s heart.”
Steve Cavanagh, bestselling author of the Eddie Flynn series

“Every time you think the book got quiet, it screams again.” Josh Malerman, New York Times-bestselling author of Bird Box and Daphne

“An unforgettable ride.” Lisa Gray, bestselling author of the Jessica Shaw series

‘Sometimes God is your copilot, but it’s the Devil who takes you home.’

It was never just a job. Becoming a hitman was the only way Mario could cover his young daughter’s medical expenses. But before long his family is left in pieces, and he’s barely even put a dent in the stack of bills.

Then he’s presented with an offer: one last score that will either pull him out of poverty forever or put a bullet in the back of his skull. A man named Juanca needs help stealing $2 million dollars from a drug cartel.

Together, they begin a journey to an underworld where unspeakable horrors happen every day. He’s a man with nothing to lose, but the Devil is waiting for him.

Wrestling with demons of our world and beyond, this blistering thriller charts the unforgettable quest of a husband and father in search of his lost soul.

Reviews

The Devil Takes You Home is a wild ride through grief, faith, loss and monstrosity. Gabino Iglesias's sharp prose and visceral, haunting vision have birthed a riveting novel no reader will soon forget. Fresh and genuinely scary.
Tananarive Due, American Book Award-winner author of Ghost Summer and My Soul to Keep
The Devil Takes You Home is a new kind of fiction, profoundly moving, despairing and scary all at once.
Brian Evenson, author of Last Days
The Devil Takes You Home is an almighty powder keg of a novel that explodes across the page, filling the reader with shock, awe, terror and pity. A hypnotic marriage between jet-black narco noir and magic realism, it's a high-octane road trip you'll never forget.
Tim Baker, author of City Without Stars and Fever City
The Devil Takes You Home is an unforgettable neo-noir nightmare written with a poet's heart.
Steve Cavanagh, bestselling author of the Eddie Flynn series
The Devil Takes You Home is carried by a voice and rhythm, shaving sharp and wholly indelible. Iglesias never fails to keep a masterful foot on the pedal, feathering off the gas at times only to inevitably press it to the floor and pin us to our seats.
David Joy, author of When These Mountains Burn
A brutal and brilliant novel. Brace yourself for the ride-this is his best work yet.
Jennifer Hillier, award-winning author of Little Secrets and Jar of Hearts
A dark and disturbing tunnel into another world, Iglesias deftly walks the line between beautiful and haunting. A tense and unapologetic story, I devoured this in a weekend, my eyes widening with every unflinching word.
Sam Holland, author of The Echo Man
A page-turner with attitude...don't miss it.
David Heska Wanbli Weiden, award-winning author of Winter Counts
A ragged-edged bloody bullet-hole of a book.
Chuck Wendig, bestselling author of Wanderers
An excellent crime novel driven by righteous grief, fierce narration, and raw violence. Iglesias takes us on a vivid exploration of pain and rage, along the Southwest border where the horrors of reality and the supernatural intertwine.
John Woods, author of Lady Chevy
Brilliantly written, Iglesias has created a riveting character that leaps off the page and will stay with you long after you close the book.
Victor Methos, bestselling author of A Killer’s Wife
Brutal, bloody and brilliant. This book will thrill and terrify in equal measures and it'll break your heart. An unforgettable ride.
Lisa Gray, bestselling author of the Jessica Shaw series
Pure noir, overflowing with the rage and sorrow of our times, The Devil Takes You Home is brutal, hallucinatory, and somehow, beautiful. This novel confirms what some of us already knew: Gabino Iglesias is a fierce, vital voice.
Paul Tremblay, bestselling author of Survivor Song
Sears itself into your mind-a book that cannot be unread.
Dominic Nolan, author of Vine Street
Some nightmares you wake from just leave you in an even worse nightmare. And then Gabino Iglesias holds his hand out from that darkness, takes you home.
Stephen Graham Jones, author of The Only Good Indians
Some of the finest, most terrifying and heartbreaking writing you will read this year. The Devil Takes You Home is not to be missed.
S.A. Cosby, New York Times-bestselling author of Razorblade Tears and Blacktop Wasteland
The line between noir and horror not only gets blurred in Iglesias's The Devil Takes You Home; it gets obliterated. His barrio noir is a new kind of fiction, profoundly moving, despairing and scary all at once.
Brian Evenson, author of Last Days
Utterly compelling, absolutely brutal, terrifying and heartbreaking - but these words barely sum it up.
Susi Holliday, author of The Last Resort and Substitute
With a noir voice reminiscent of Jim Thompson, this book charges into rage and despair, sparing no one, least of all the reader. Strap yourself in.
Chris Offutt, author of The Killing Hills and Country Dark
Here there be bloodshed, oh yes, sudden lyrical frenzies peppers over the main course of calamity. Every time you think the book got quiet, it screams again.
Josh Malerman, New York Times-bestselling author of Bird Box and Daphne
Full of violent truths, The Devil Takes You Home is one of the best books I have read in a long time. An incredible, unforgettable read.
Alma Katsu, author of The Hunger and The Fervor
Though a young writer, Gabino Iglesias writes with the authority of a writer who's been down this road many times before. Iglesias' prose is smooth where smooth is called for and rough or a bit mean when smooth won't work.
Daniel Woodrell, award-winning author of Winter’s Bone