We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

From the author of Belle of the Back Streets, a dramatically powerful saga of secrets, friendship, motherhood, love and betrayal, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

‘She’s not worth more than tuppence, that child!’

Those are the words that haunt Sadie Linthorpe. She is the talk of Ryhope when she arrives there, aged seventeen, alone, seeking work and a home in the pit village. But Sadie is keeping a secret – that she is searching for her baby girl who was taken from her at birth to be sold by the child’s wicked, battleaxe grandmother when Sadie was just fifteen years old.

All that Sadie knows about the family who took her daughter is that they lived in Ryhope. And the only thing she knows about her daughter is that when the baby was born, she had a birthmark on one shoulder that resembled a tiny ladybird. But as Sadie’s quest begins, a visitor from her past appears – one who could jeopardise the life she’s beginning to build and could separate from her beloved child forever…

(P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd