Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1)

The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1)

**Winner of the British Fantasy Award 2018 for Best Fantasy Novel**

The first in a blistering new trilogy from Jen Williams, acclaimed author of British Fantasy Award-nominated Copper Cat trilogy. Epic fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb and Jay Kristoff’s Nevernight.

Fantasy adventure at its very best’ Starburst

‘Williams excels at eldritch world-building’ Guardian

‘An original new voice in heroic fantasy’ Adrian Tchaikovsky

The great city of Ebora once glittered with gold. Now its streets are stalked by wolves. Tormalin the Oathless has no taste for sitting around waiting to die while the realm of his storied ancestors falls to pieces – talk about a guilt trip. Better to be amongst the living, where there are taverns full of women and wine.

When eccentric explorer, Lady Vincenza ‘Vintage’ de Grazon, offers him employment, he sees an easy way out. Even when they are joined by a fugitive witch with a tendency to set things on fire, the prospect of facing down monsters and retrieving ancient artefacts is preferable to the abomination he left behind.

But not everyone is willing to let the Eboran empire collapse, and the adventurers are quickly drawn into a tangled conspiracy of magic and war. For the Jure’lia are coming, and the Ninth Rain must fall…

(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 23rd February 2017

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472245335

Reviews

The Ninth Rain is a fast-paced and vibrant fantasy romp through a new world, full of people you want to spend time with and enemies you'd happily run from
SciFiNow
A cracking story that grips you by the heart and doesn't let go
Edward Cox
Absolutely phenomenal fantasy
Adrian Tchaikovsky
Great pacing, top-notch writing, quality characterisation, plenty of action . . . a truly enjoyable and absorbing read
thetattooedbookgeek.wordpress.com
Jen Williams takes us on another great adventure. Fresh, engaging, and full of heart
Peter Newman
Jen's world building skills are akin to no other . . . utterly brilliant
raptureinbooks.com
There is so much to praise about The Ninth Rain: the worldbuilding is top-notch, the plot is gripping and the characters just get better and better. A sublime read
SFX
Williams portrays her characters as flawed but humane, propels the plot with expert pace, and excels at eldritch world-building
Guardian
Yet again, Williams has created an addictive and coherent fantasy world filled with all sorts of deliciously interesting things within it... This is fantasy adventure at its very best. Go check it out
Starburst
Brilliantly creative fantasy
This Northern Gal

The Winnowing Flame Trilogy