We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472210074

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 10th September 2015

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The enthralling second book in the beloved classic series from ‘one of the nation’s favourite saga author’ (Lancashire Post) in the grand tradition of Katie Flynn, Dilly Court and Josephine Cox.

Jennie’s heartwarming and heartrending sagas are richly praised!

‘Jennie Felton knows how to tell a cracking story and keep the reader gripped… if you enjoy reading books in the style of Catherine Cookson then this one is for you’ Books With Wine and Chocolate

‘Another superbly woven and character-rich story from a saga author who writes from the heart’ Peterborough Telegraph

‘Packed full of Jennie’s signature strong heroines, this book will keep you guessing’ MNR Journal

When everything is lost, can a fresh start save the Day family?

When Annie Day at number four, Fairley Terrace, loses her beloved husband in a tragic mining disaster, she cannot afford the luxury of grief. For now she must find a way to support herself and her two young daughters, Kitty and Lucy, and marriage to widower Algernon Pierce seems to be the answer to Annie’s prayers.

For a time, all is well. But beneath her new husband’s respectable veneer, lies a darkness which deepens as the years roll by. Annie begins to fear for her daughters’ futures, particularly vibrant, headstrong Lucy, whose defiance of Algernon alters the course of their lives for ever…

*Includes bonus material from the author.*

Don’t miss Jennie’s the rest Families of Fairley Terrace series, which begins with Maggie’s story in All The Dark Secrets and continues with Lucy’s story in The Miner’s Daughter, Edie’s story in The Girl Below Stairs, Carina’s story in The Widow’s Promise and Laurel’s story in The Sister’s Secret.

Plus look out for Jennie’s page-turning standalones – The Stolen Child, A Mother’s Sacrifice and The Smuggler’s Girl – coming soon!


This emotional rollercoaster tale of love and betrayal, darkness and light, hope and despair, recalls the powerful sense of loyalty and shared adversity that helped mining communities to survive the hardships of unemployment and tragedy. Felton has a natural empathy for the people and their landscape and this enables her to evoke time and place so convincingly and to write about their lives and loves with such genuine affection and warmth
<i>Lancashire Evening Post</i>
Fans of Katie Flynn will love this
<i>Peterborough Evening Telegraph</i>
From the poverty of a mining town in Somerset to the bright lights of London music halls this story definitely had me hooked and once I had read the first few chapters I couldn't put it down. There are many twists and turns throughout the book which helped keep my interest. Jennie Felton's wonderful description of life in the early nineteen hundreds brought this story and it's characters to life. I'm eagerly awaiting book number three
<i>Books With Wine And Chocolate</i>
Believable characters, a vivid sense of time and place, thoroughly enjoyable
Rosie Goodwin
Enthralling . . . Jennie Felton . . . writes her stories straight from the heart . . . evokes time and place with compelling authenticity, and conjures up a feisty heroine and a cast of engaging characters
Lancashire Evening Post
Has everything a family saga should have - happiness, extreme sadness, love, death, births, etc. but above all it was a real page turner . . . Thank you, Jennie, for writing such a wonderful book
Boon’s Bookcase
If you like the style of Catherine Cookson, Josephine Cox or Katie Flynn then you'll enjoy this
Books With Wine And Chocolate

The Families of Fairley Terrace