We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Jodi Taylor is quite simply the Queen of Time. Her books are a swashbuckling joyride through History’ C. K. MCDONNELL

‘A great mix of British properness and humour with a large dollop of historical fun’ *****

BOOK 12 IN THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING CHRONICLES OF ST MARY’S SERIES

For fans of Jasper Fforde, Doctor Who, Genevieve Cogman and Richard Osman’s Thursday Murder Club



It’s time, Max.’ And so, a whole new chapter opens up…

It’s long been known that if a thing can go wrong, it will. With knobs on, usually. Disasters start to pile up. A new colleague with no respect for the past and a great deal to prove. Historians lost in time. And – worst of all – Rosie Lee on her very first jump. Then there’s the small matter of Max’s dishonourable discharge.

From Tudor England to the Tower of Babel – it’s all going horribly wrong.

Jobless and homeless, Max receives an offer she can’t refuse. Another time, another place. A refuge, perhaps.

She’s got that wrong, too.

Readers love Jodi Taylor:

‘Once in a while, I discover an author who changes everything… Jodi Taylor and her protagonista Madeleine “Max” Maxwell have seduced me’

Addictive. I wish St Mary’s was real and I was a part of it’

‘Jodi Taylor has an imagination that gets me completely hooked

‘A tour de force’