We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The second novel in the gripping supernatural thriller series from international bestselling author Jodi Taylor, perfect for fans of Sarah Painter, Genevieve Cogman and Ben Aaronovitch.

Dark light still filled my vision and I could see nothing.

Elizabeth Cage has lost everything. Betrayed, terrified and alone, she finds refuge in the seemingly idyllic village of Greyston.

But for Elizabeth, life is never quiet for long and she soon finds herself caught up in an ancient ceremony that culminates in violent death.

Escape is her only option but how? And where to? With the Sorensen Clinic still after her, nowhere is safe.

And no matter how far and fast she runs, trouble will always find her.

Readers love Jodi Taylor:

‘Jodi Taylor does brilliant, strong female heroes, and Elizabeth follows on from Max in the St Mary’s series’

‘I look forward to another adventure with this quirky and perfectly matched pair

‘Hold on to your seat and close your eyes if you dare!’

Gripping and full of curious plot turns’

‘An on-the-edge-of-your-seat thriller where no assumptions can be made’

Reviews

Takes readers on a carnival ride through laughter and tears with a bit of time travel thrown in for spice
Publishers Weekly Starred Review
A true page-turner
SF Revu
I've never seen time travel handled this way. I like it
Wethenerdy.com
[An] appealing cast of characters... [with] with plenty of humour, lots of action, and even a touch of romance
Library Journal
Takes readers on a carnival ride through laughter and tears with a bit of time travel thrown in for spice
Publishers Weekly Starred Review
A true page-turner
SF Revu
I've never seen time travel handled this way. I like it
Wethenerdy.com
[An] appealing cast of characters... [with] with plenty of humour, lots of action, and even a touch of romance
Library Journal