We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A drug-based multiple-murder investigation has some shocking revelations in the page-turning thirteenth thriller in the Dismas Hardy series. A Plague of Secrets by the critically acclaimed John Lescroart is perfect for fans of J.J. Miller and Michael Connelly.

‘The best of the best: the best yet in today’s best legal thriller series’ – Lee Child

When Dylan Vogler, the manager of the Bay Beans West coffee shop, is murdered, inspectors discover that his knapsack is filled with high-grade marijuana. It soon becomes clear that San Francisco’s A-list flocked to Bay Beans West not only for their caffeine fix. But how much did Maya Townshend – the socialite niece of the city’s mayor, and the owner of the shop – know about what was going on inside her business? As another of Maya’s acquaintances is murdered, and as the names of the celebrity, political, and even law-enforcement customers come to light, tabloid-fuelled controversy takes the investigation into the realms of conspiracy and cover-up. Prosecutors close in on Maya, who has a deep secret of her own – a secret she needs to protect at all costs during her very public trial, where not only her future but the entire political landscape of San Francisco hangs in the balance, hostage to an explosive secret that Dismas Hardy is privilege-bound to protect.

What readers are saying about A Plague of Secrets:

‘A brilliant case, brilliantly written, brilliant courtroom scenes, brilliant characterisation […] brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!

‘The drama that unfolds kept my heart pounding, right until the shocking climax of the story’

‘The dialogue was clever, at times funny, and always true to its character. A Plague of Secrets is truly a page turner that is enjoyable from beginning to end’

Reviews

The best of the best
Lee Child
High-class...first-rate
<I> Sunday Telegraph </I>
Breathtaking
<I> LA Times </I>
Brilliant
<I> Washington Post </I>
Compulsively readable
<I> San Francisco Chronicle </I>