We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Betrayal, revenge and unsuspected truths…

Dismas Hardy gets caught up in the complicated world of government conspiracy when he takes on the challenging case of National Guard reservist Evan Scholler. Betrayal is the twelfth thriller in John Lescroart’s Dismas Hardy series. Perfect for fans of John Sandford and J.J. Miller.

‘A tour de force of a legal thriller… Easily usurps the latest from Grisham and Turow’ – Providence Journal

When Dismas Hardy agrees to clean up the caseload of recently disappeared attorney Charlie Bowen, he thinks it will be easy. But one of the cases is far from small-time – the sensational clash between National Guard reservist Evan Scholler and an ex-Navy SEAL and private contractor named Ron Nolan. Two events in Iraq conspired to bring the men into fatal conflict: Nolan’s relationship with Evan’s girlfriend back home in the States; followed by a deadly incident in which Nolan’s apparent mistake results in the death of an innocent Iraqi family as well as seven men in Evan’s platoon. As the murky relationship between the U.S. government and its private contractors plays out in the personal drama of these two men, and the consequences become a desperate matter of life and death, Dismas Hardy begins to uncover a terrible and perilous truth that takes him far beyond the case and into the realm of assassination and treason. From the treacherous streets of Iraq to the courtrooms of California, Betrayal is a magnificent tour de force of pure storytelling.

What readers are saying about Betrayal:

‘The courtroom scenes are simply brilliant […] they kept me awake all night

‘So full of twists and turns that it was impossible to put down

‘Once again a compulsive read – kept me riveted from beginning to end’

Reviews

The best of the best
Lee Child
High-class...first-rate
<I> Sunday Telegraph </I>
Breathtaking
<I> LA Times </I>
Brilliant
<I> Washington Post </I>
Compulsively readable
<I> San Francisco Chronicle </I>