We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755384426

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 19th January 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Does Queenie have the strength to overcome her father’s sins and grasp love and happiness?

Josephine Cox brings us the first instalment of Queenie’s story in Her Father’s Sins, the unforgettable saga of a young woman’s refusal to settle for second best. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Sheila Newberry.


Queenie seemed born to suffer. Her mam died giving birth to her, her drunken father George Kenney ignored her unless he was cursing her, and only beloved Auntie Biddy provided an anchor for the little girl. Growing up in post-war Blackburn, life could be tough when Biddy had to take in washing to make ends meet – at a time when the washing machine began to gain popularity. After Auntie Biddy’s death there was only Queenie to care for the home and to earn money, and no one to protect her from the father who blamed his daughter for her mother’s death.

But Queenie is resilient. And in spite of hardship, she grows up tall and strikingly beautiful with her deep grey eyes and her abundant honey-coloured hair. Love, in the shape of Rick Marsden, might have released her from the burden of the drink-sodden George. But the sins of the fathers cannot be easily forgotten…

What readers are saying about Her Father’s Sins:

‘A well written book and one that I found I couldn’t put down until I had read it from cover to cover in one go!’

‘This is an excellent story with the various strands all marvellously coming together at the end’

I loved every word of the book – five stars

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Driven and passionate
The Sunday Times
Impossible to resist
Woman's Realm
Josephine Cox brings so much freshness to the plot, and the characters ... A Cookson by any other name
Birmingham Post
Hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson
Manchester Evening News