Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Whistledown Woman

Whistledown Woman

What if everything you’ve been brought up to believe was a lie?

Whistledown Woman is the moving story of a beautiful girl growing up unaware of her true inheritance, from bestselling author Josephine Cox. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Lindsey Hutchinson.


On a moonlit night in 1898, Kathleen Wyman lies in labour at Bessington Hall. Her husband, Edward, is sure that she has been unfaithful to him. In his blind, jealous rage he later gives away the baby to gypsy Rona Parrish, summoned to help with the delivery. Kathleen, frenzied with grief, is soon after locked away in an asylum.

Rejected by her father, the little girl begins her new life with only a valuable brooch pinned to her shawl as a clue to her true origins. Named after Rona’s own mother, the lovely raven-haired Starlena grows up in ignorance of her true parentage and vast inheritance, believing her birthplace to be the beautiful Whistledown Valley. And Rona, always afraid, stays watchful over the years for any sign that someone might track Starlena down – someone who wishes her harm…

What readers are saying about Whistledown Woman:

A brilliant novel by Josephine Cox. Gripping and romantic combined with subterfuge. A very unusual storyline makes this a different story’

Couldn’t put this book down, had everything: romance, sadness, suspense

‘I loved the story, lots of twists and turns – such a realistic, descriptive style which transported me into the story’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 19th January 2012

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755384624

Reviews

Driven and passionate
The Sunday Times
Hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson
Manchester Evening News
Impossible to resist
Woman's Realm
Josephine Cox brings so much freshness to the plot, and the characters ... A Cookson by any other name
Birmingham Post