Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Wing and a Prayer

A Wing and a Prayer

She’s seen enough of selfish and violent men to doubt she’ll ever marry – but one man might change her mind…

Lyn Andrews’ A Wing and a Prayer is a compelling saga of Liverpool life in the early twentieth century for one troubled family. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Annie Murray.


For Mary Callaghan marriage has brought heartaches and disappointment. But with it have come joys, the greatest of which are her daughters, Daisy and Nell. Mary longs for them to have the one thing denied to her – a husband who will offer them kindness, security and love.

But when Daisy confesses she’s pregnant, the future looks grim, for the father’s a rough, pleasure-loving man. As Nell watches her sister sink into bitter poverty, and as the world around her grows more uncertain, with war more likely by the day, risking all for love seems to Nell a foolish game…

What readers are saying about A Wing and a Prayer:

‘Just couldn’t put this down, a brilliant story by a wonderful author… her imagination is certainly a gift’

Lyn Andrews writes from the heart
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 24th June 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755379200

Reviews

Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo