Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Liverpool Lou

Liverpool Lou

Will she find the happiness she deserves?

Lyn Andrews’ Liverpool Lou is an engrossing Merseyside saga spanning two world wars, following a young woman as she sets out to make her own way in the world, despite her aunt’s determination to control her. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Annie Murray and Maureen Lee.


Babsey has always worked hard to provide for her family; she runs a greengrocers publicly and a money-lending business in private. Babsey makes sure that her family doesn’t mix with the rougher people in the neighbourhood – she considers herself a cut above the local community. When her niece Louisa needs a home – her mother is dead, and her father at sea – Babsey does her duty and brings the girl into the household.

But Louisa doesn’t quite fit in with Babsey’s plans. Although life under Aunt Babsey’s roof is comfortable, Louisa is acutely aware of the desperate poverty around her. And, as she grows up into a thoughtful young woman, the harsh realities of love and betrayal, war and death, make her determined to find her own way.
Louisa will eventually be made famous throughout her city – known for ever as Liverpool Lou. And she might just find love along the way…

What readers are saying about Liverpool Lou:

Brilliant storyCould not put it down. Had me in tears’

‘Just what you would expect from Lyn Andrews. Full of lifelike characters and good background knowledge. Really enjoyed it’

One of the best books I’ve read
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 4th March 2010

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376353

Reviews

Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Daily Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo