We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

New start. New lives. New troubles.

1920s Liverpool is the beautifully portrayed setting for The Sisters O’Donnell – a delightful saga about three young Irish women building new lives for themselves, from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries.


Throughout County Tipperary the three sisters were known as the Sisters O’Donnell. They all have red hair, but little else in common. Together they move to Liverpool in the 1920s to make a new life for themselves – although each sister intends to go about it in her own sweet way. Gina wants to be a star of the theatre, Mary-Kate wants to find a husband, and Bridget, shy, gentle Bridget, just wants to escape the Troubles.

But when they get to Liverpool they realise that fame and fortune are thin on the ground as, indeed, is work. And their money is running out fast… The sisters have a long way to go before they fulfil their dreams – will the bonds of sisterhood be enough to hold them together?

What readers are saying about The Sisters O’Donnell:

‘An absolutely brilliant book, really well written, I just couldn’t wait to turn the page to see what would happen next!’

‘The best book I have read for ages’

‘This book will tug at your heart strings and prove hard, if not impossible, to put down

Reviews

Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo