Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Ties that Bind

The Ties that Bind

Two families. Two friends. One world war.

Lyn Andrews’ The Ties That Bind is an unforgettable saga of two young girls in the slums of war-wracked Liverpool, bound together by a friendship that surmounts disaster, poverty and heartbreak. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Maureen Lee and Pam Evans.


‘A beautifully written story’ – Coventry Evening Telegraph

Tessa O’Leary is the only daughter of a family of fatherless boys. When her mother dies she’s her brothers’ lifeline to survival. So for Tessa the privations of war are just another battle to be fought for a young woman who was born fighting…

Elizabeth Harrison is oppressed by her shopkeeper mother’s snobbish expectations and it seems that the coming war could offer her an escape from her family’s emotional ties – but at what cost?

What readers are saying about The Ties That Bind:

‘This is Lyn Andrews at her best, you are instantly hooked

‘The story follows these two girls over the years… and all the time the story just got better and better!

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 4th March 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376445

Reviews

An excellent read about characters you'll warm to
South Wales Argus
A story that will delight her huge following
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
A beautifully written story
Coventry Evening Telegraph
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Daily Express
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly