We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The White Empress

The White Empress

A young woman will stop at nothing to achieve her dreams…

The White Empress, by bestselling author Lyn Andrews, is a moving saga of a young woman who is determined to make her own way in life – and see the world whilst doing so. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Dilly Court and Maureen Lee.


Cat Cleary is a sixteen-year-old Irish ‘slummy’ arriving in Liverpool to seek her fortune. Joe Calligan, a young steam-packet deckhand, think she’s the loveliest girl he’s ever seen, and hasn’t the heart to tell her that Liverpool is full of people tramping the streets looking for work.

And then Cat sees the White Empress, a huge luxury liner. In that moment her ambition is born – to be chief stewardess. In spite of her poverty, her lack of education, her family background, Cat Cleary sets about realising her incredible dream. And while doing so she discovers that having a good man by her side will bring her more happiness than she could ever have imagined.

(P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
Read More

Genre: Modern Period, C 1500 Onwards

On Sale: 29th October 2020

Price: £21.99

ISBN-13: 9781472281371