Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

When Tomorrow Dawns

When Tomorrow Dawns

It’s 1945, and war is finally over. But for one young woman, the future is full of uncertainty…

Lyn Andrews writes a powerful saga in When Tomorrow Dawns, the story of a young mother’s battle for a place to call home amid the aftermath of the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.


1945. The people of Liverpool, after six years of terror and grief and getting by, are making the best of the hard-won peace, none more so than the ebullient O’Sheas. They welcome widowed Mary O’Malley from Dublin, her young son Kevin, and Breda, her bold strap of a sister, with open arms and hearts.
Mary is determined to make a fresh start for her family, despite Breda, who is soon up to her old tricks. At first all goes well, and Mary begins to build an understanding with their new neighbour Chris Kennedy – until events take a dramatic turn that puts Chris beyond her reach. Forced to leave the shelter of the O’Sheas’ home, humiliated and bereft, Mary faces a future that is suddenly uncertain once more. But she knows that life has to go on…

What readers are saying about When Tomorrow Dawns:

‘A thoroughly well written book that takes you to that time and place. You will feel as if you know the characters intimately and will not want to put the book down but also will not want it to come to an end. A book you could lose yourself in

‘Loved this book, could not put it down… Such a heart-warming story of love and loss
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 3rd April 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376452

Reviews

Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Daily Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo