Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

When the Lights Go Down

When the Lights Go Down

With a country on the brink of war, a young usherette is on the brink of heartache…

This irresistible, heartwarming saga from Pam Evans, the bestselling author of In the Dark Streets Shining, is an unforgettable tale of love, hope and war. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Lindsey Hutchinson.


‘History and Romance. A touching saga’ – My Weekly

It is 1938 and the threat of war looms on the streets of London. But, when the lights go down in the cinema aisles, usherette Daisy Blake is transported to a world of glamour and romance. Among the staff there is much merriment and Daisy soon falls in love with the handsome organist, Al Dawson. Then war is declared and, just after Al leaves for the frontline, Daisy discovers she’s pregnant. Her mother is distraught; she doesn’t think Al is right for her daughter and when Daisy’s letters to him go unanswered, her mother encourages her to marry John, the cinema’s projectionist, to spare her further heartache.

As the blitz rages over London and disaster strikes, Daisy’s morale is boosted by her work and her young son, Sam, brings her comfort and joy in the troubled times ahead…

What Amazon readers are saying about When the Lights Go Down:

‘This book was great. Couldn’t put it down, well worth reading’

‘Like a fairy tale ending’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 24th March 2016

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781472219596

Reviews

A good traditional romance, and its author has a feeling for the atmosphere of postwar London
Sunday Express
Very readable
Bella
This book touched me very, very much. It's lovely
North Wales Chronicle
An uplifting love story with all the right ingredients
Lancashire Evening Post
A superb and heartwarming read
Irish Independent