We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A haunted, misunderstood outcast… or a murderer?

Paul Doherty writes an epic, spine-chilling story of terror, mystery and black magic set in the Middle Ages in his spellbinding novel, The Rose Demon. Perfect for fans of Michael Jecks and Robin Hobb.


Matthias Fitzosbert is the illegitimate son of the parish priest of the village of Sutton Courteny. Despite the recent spate of murders, each day he braves the dark woods to visit his friend, a mysterious hermit who shows him many strange and beautiful things. Though enthralled, the boy is always puzzled by his lessons with the hermit – never more so than the night the villagers hunt the hermit down, and burn him, believing him to be responsible for the many deaths.

The Rose Demon explores Matthias’s unique relationship with a spirit he strives to placate but ultimately flees from. His story is played out against the vivid panorama of medieval life; the fall and sack of Constantinople, the turbulent Wars of the Roses, the terror of witchcraft, the battlefields of Spain and finally the lush jungles of the Caribbean where the Rose Demon and Matthias have one final, dramatic confrontation.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘Doherty weaves his spell on his readers bringing medieval England to life
‘A captivating read – I was thrilled
Pure brilliance

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions [of the era], not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News
For those who are keen enthusiasts of medieval murder stories the name Paul Doherty will need no introduction... He writes with enthusiasm about an era he knows well
SHOTS Magazine
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle