Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The True Soldier (Jack Lark, Book 6)

The True Soldier (Jack Lark, Book 6)

Roguish hero Jack Lark – dubbed ‘Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley’ – travels to America to reinvent himself as the American Civil War looms… A must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow.

‘Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better than Paul Fraser Collard’ Matthew Harffy

‘This ain’t the kind of war you are used to. It’s brother against brother, countryman against countryman’

April, 1861. Jack Lark arrives in Boston as civil war storms across America.

A hardened soldier, Jack has always gone where he was ordered to go – and killed the enemy he was ordered to kill. But when he becomes a sergeant for the Union army, he realises that this conflict between North and South is different. Men are choosing to fight – and die – for a cause they believe in.

The people of Boston think it will take just one, great battle. But, with years of experience, Jack knows better. This is the beginning of something that will tear a country apart – and force Jack to see what he is truly fighting for.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 22nd March 2018

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781472239068

Reviews

It worked its magic on me and made me love it so much so that once again I miss Jack Lark... a year is a long time to wait until his next adventure
Parmenion Books
An action-packed adventure guaranteed to get the pulse racing
Historical Novel Society
Paul Fraser Collard is a master of action historical fiction. The True Soldier is another exciting epic adventure in the Jack Lark series. Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better than Paul Fraser Collard. Jack Lark is a perfect flawed hero, whose deep-seated resentment of the inequalities of nineteenth century society allows Collard to investigate the political history of the bloody wars in which Lark finds himself fighting
This is such a strong series... and I do believe The True Soldier could be among the best
For Winter Nights
Plenty of honour and action in a satisfying slab of martial adventure
Daily Sport
A thrilling novel
Sunday Express