Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Paper Bracelet

The Paper Bracelet

Every baby’s paper bracelet held a mother’s secret…

‘Utterly moving and compelling. That first line…wow! I was hooked‘ Patricia Scanlan

‘A powerful, important, beautiful book’ Sinéad Crowley

Inspired by heartrending true events in a home for unwed mothers, set in Ireland, Boston and London, this novel is perfect for readers of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes and The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis.

For almost fifty years, Katie Carroll has kept a box tucked away inside her wardrobe. It dates from her time working as a nurse in a west of Ireland home for unwed mothers in the 1970s. The box contains a notebook holding the details of the babies and young women she met there. It also holds many of the babies’ identity bracelets.

Following the death of her husband, Katie makes a decision. The information she possesses could help reunite adopted people with their birth mothers, and she decides to post a message on an internet forum. Soon the replies are rolling in, and Katie finds herself returning many of the bracelets to their original owners. She encounters success and failure, heartbreak and joy. But is she prepared for old secrets to be uncovered in her own life?

Readers love Rachael English’s writing:

‘A true storyteller who keeps you turning the pages’ Cathy Kelly

‘A compelling read’ Sheila O’Flanagan

‘Beautiful, compelling, and sincere in the way of the very best stories and the best books’ Irish Independent

‘An evocative read … powerful … If you read authors such as Diane Chamberlain, Sheila O’Flanagan or Maeve Binchy then you should also check this out’ Between My Lines

‘Enchanting, emotional, heartbreaking, ultimately uplifting and just perfect… Rachael English is a wonderful storyteller’ Being Anne
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 9th July 2020

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472264664